Cheesy Eggplant Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This turned out pretty well for me and it was quick! I would recommend doubling the amount of italian seasoning for more flavor. I also added in one small tomato and 2 tablespoons red wine and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is the perfect sidedish for any meal. My husband wanted to try a different recipe we had never had. So, I wasn't sure how to cook eggplant....But this recipe was so easy and it came out perfect. I will make it more often....NOW that I know what to do. Loved it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
This was a wonderful eggplant dish, and it was very easy to make. Mine turned out a bit dry, so next time I will try adding tomato as another reviewer suggested. All in all it was a great recipe... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Like the other reviews suggested I added extra Italian seasoning, and instead of just a small tomato, I used a can of Italian style diced tomatoes - little more than a small tomato (with some juice too) so each helping would have tomato. No need to be exact on measuring the onion - 2 tbsp is a little less than a half of a small onion (I used the whole half). It was very tasty, and my husband really liked it - and he doesn't like eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I didn't have sharp chedder cheese for this,so i substituted fresh mozzerella cheese. Added a can of diced tomatoes, as others suggested, because i thought it looked dry as well. I also followed the others, regarding the amt of italian seasoning, which i put in an extra one teaspoon. It tasted great, and we will be having leftovers from yesterday. Definitely will make again, and may make it for a potluck as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Although not terribly bad, this recipe is quite dry. I think it could be salvaged if some wet ingredients were added (perhaps tomatoe sauce or some chicken broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made quite a few changes and with everything I changed it turned into more a dressing than an eggplant casserole. So I wasn't sure that I should even review it. But I think this is a great base recipe and that is something I'm always looking for. I added two cups of French bread cubed, 1/2 c. chicken stock, 2 green onions chopped, 1 celery stalk minced, more garlic for taste and a fistful of chopped parsley along with doubling the Italian seasoning. I really loved this and the eggplant reminded me of my Maw Maw's oyster dressing. So I will definitely be making this again with the addition of chopped oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostjujubeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
Fixed this; it's very good. Leftovers? Cut into square, put each into a plastic bag, and froze. Still good later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
We love the taste, but it tends to turn out a little dry. I add a little water (maybe 1/4 cup) when I'm mixing it up so it doesn't dry out in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I didn't really like this recipe. I followed the directions exactly using stove top stuffing. I found the taste of the stuffing overpowered the taste of the eggplant. Also the leftovers didn't reheat well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States