Cheesy Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Amazing ! Used diced Tomatoes not stewed and added garlic. it will be made regularly ! thank you! UPDATE- I HAVE STARTED USING FIRE ROASTED TOMATOS, THEY ARE FABULOUS IN THIS DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
think the mozzarella would be great but didn't have any on hand so substituted with provolone. this was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. However, A few changes were made, which I believe made this side dish even better. Instead of stewed tomatoes..sliced roma tomatoes were used. Also thinly sliced fresh mozzarella was used instead of packaged. Instead of a large baking dish we used small personal sized dishes and only had to bake for 10 minutes and then an extra 10 minutes with the cheese on....which was a HUGE time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I have had this recipe from my mom for years! It is soooo good! An excellent vegetarian main dish, or can be a side dish. The only thing different in my recipe, is using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. This is an awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
delicious. I made some major changes because of what i had in my cupboards, and it still turned out great. I baked the eggplant in the oven instead of frying it. I used broccoli instead of green pepper. I blended up garden tomatoes instead of canned, and used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. The dish came out similar consistency to lasagna, but didn't mask the unique eggplant flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I made it a main dish by adding venison burger and italian sausage with some italian seasoning. My six guests raved over this new interesting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I'll confess, I read this recipe and then as an Italian habit, I immediately forgot what I read and started prapering my sauce. DUH! I went back to the repice and then realized there is NO SAUCE! ;) So, I improvised by layering the eggplant, sauce mozarella cheese and then baked according to the directions. It was wonderful! A simpler way to make is to buy frozen pre breaded sliced eggplant (I used Trader Joe's). It came out delicious, and I promise that next time I'll not make sauce in advance and I'll actually follow this recpie, which sounds divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a really fabulous recipe, and worth the time it takes to make it! I cut back on the salt and added whole cloves of roasted garlic. Tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I expected a fairly good, kind-of-standard eggplant dish, but this was delicious! A really nice main meal, though it would probably go pretty well with pasta. No changes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This dish is very versatile and it's delicious. I prepared it following the instructions but next time I'll prepare my own tomato sauce to avoid the sweetness of the sauce that one get in stores. Definitely, i recommend that you try this. Thanks to the original submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States