Cheesy Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. However, A few changes were made, which I believe made this side dish even better. Instead of stewed tomatoes..sliced roma tomatoes were used. Also thinly sliced fresh mozzarella was used instead of packaged. Instead of a large baking dish we used small personal sized dishes and only had to bake for 10 minutes and then an extra 10 minutes with the cheese on....which was a HUGE time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is the best eggplant recipe I have ever made. My husband and I both love it! Served it over spaghetti. Yummy! I added some oregano and basil to the tomatoes. Also added some parmesan before the mozzarella. The recipe does not say whether to drain the tomatoes or not. I used diced tomatoes undrained to which I had added the oregano and basil. Definitely need to include the tomato juice if using over spaghetti. If I were serving this as a side dish though, I would leave the juice out to make it less sloppy. But it is wonderful as a pasta topping! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This dish will be a regular in our house. When I sauted the gr. pepper, mushrooms, and onion I also added some fresh Oregano from the garden, chopped. I then layed this dish - eggplant, sauted ingred., and sprinkled parmesean and shredded Mozzarella cheese, repeated the layer until all ingrediants were used up. Topped with canned diced tomatoes and baked according to direcitions. When it was time to add the cheese, since I used shredded mozzarella I baked for another 5 minutes and it came out perfect. Thank you for this recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very tasty! I made the recipe as is. It was very simple to follow. I agree with other reviewers about the prep time. It took me double the time listed (45 mins). Prep time is a huge factor for me so this made for a crazy evening. Also, after I put the cheese on top, it was well done after 20 mins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Eggplant slices should be cut thicker to really feature the main ingredient. This reminded me of a really great veggie lasagna. It was a hit with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Andersen Afb, Yigo, Guam
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Amazing ! Used diced Tomatoes not stewed and added garlic. it will be made regularly ! thank you! UPDATE- I HAVE STARTED USING FIRE ROASTED TOMATOS, THEY ARE FABULOUS IN THIS DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
think the mozzarella would be great but didn't have any on hand so substituted with provolone. this was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was great. However, although very tasty, it significantly underestimated the amount of time needed. My fiance helped me cook the vegetables at the same time as the eggplant and it still took us a little over 2 hours. I'd still reccommend it, but make sure you have a few hours to prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I made it a main dish by adding venison burger and italian sausage with some italian seasoning. My six guests raved over this new interesting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Really great! I used one can of diced tomatoes with garlic plus one jar of our favorite spaghetti sauce. Everyone liked it! We will make this a regular- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States