Cheesy Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
think the mozzarella would be great but didn't have any on hand so substituted with provolone. this was easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
This was a fantastic recipe. However, A few changes were made, which I believe made this side dish even better. Instead of stewed tomatoes..sliced roma tomatoes were used. Also thinly sliced fresh mozzarella was used instead of packaged. Instead of a large baking dish we used small personal sized dishes and only had to bake for 10 minutes and then an extra 10 minutes with the cheese on....which was a HUGE time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
I have had this recipe from my mom for years! It is soooo good! An excellent vegetarian main dish, or can be a side dish. The only thing different in my recipe, is using canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. This is an awesome recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
delicious. I made some major changes because of what i had in my cupboards, and it still turned out great. I baked the eggplant in the oven instead of frying it. I used broccoli instead of green pepper. I blended up garden tomatoes instead of canned, and used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. The dish came out similar consistency to lasagna, but didn't mask the unique eggplant flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
What a wonderful recipe. I made it a main dish by adding venison burger and italian sausage with some italian seasoning. My six guests raved over this new interesting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This recipe was great. However, although very tasty, it significantly underestimated the amount of time needed. My fiance helped me cook the vegetables at the same time as the eggplant and it still took us a little over 2 hours. I'd still reccommend it, but make sure you have a few hours to prepare and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very tasty! I made the recipe as is. It was very simple to follow. I agree with other reviewers about the prep time. It took me double the time listed (45 mins). Prep time is a huge factor for me so this made for a crazy evening. Also, after I put the cheese on top, it was well done after 20 mins. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I'll confess, I read this recipe and then as an Italian habit, I immediately forgot what I read and started prapering my sauce. DUH! I went back to the repice and then realized there is NO SAUCE! ;) So, I improvised by layering the eggplant, sauce mozarella cheese and then baked according to the directions. It was wonderful! A simpler way to make is to buy frozen pre breaded sliced eggplant (I used Trader Joe's). It came out delicious, and I promise that next time I'll not make sauce in advance and I'll actually follow this recpie, which sounds divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a really fabulous recipe, and worth the time it takes to make it! I cut back on the salt and added whole cloves of roasted garlic. Tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I expected a fairly good, kind-of-standard eggplant dish, but this was delicious! A really nice main meal, though it would probably go pretty well with pasta. No changes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States