Cheesy Eggplant Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! The salting and slicing takes some time but it wasn't really any longer than any other meal to me and it's well worth it in my opinion. I did the vegetable chopping the night before so that everything was ready the next evening when it was time to cook I only used breadcrumbs on half the eggplant because someone was on a low/no-carb diet. I didn't taste any major difference in the side that had been breaded and the side that hadn't been. I layered the dish, eggplant, sauteed ingredients, cheese, eggplant, sauteed ingredients, tomatoes, cheese and followed the timing instructions exactly. It was a little wet/runny when I first served it, which I assume was due to the juice from the stewed tomatoes but it was still delicious. I'll just have to adjust that next time. Upon cooling and reheating the leftovers it was no longer an issue. My cousin ate it the first time I prepared it and loved it. She made it a variation of it a couple nights later, adding chicken and broccoli to the dish. I'll definitely make this again. It's delicious, everyone loved it including a kid. It's a great way to get veggies into your diet and a nice alternative to regular steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! I've made it twice now and it's been a hit both times. A few comments: 1. I think the prep time doesn't include salting the eggplant - add at least 30 minutes to what the recipe says! 2. I used extra breadcrumbs so the eggplant slices all had a really generous coating. Making sure they were nice and toasty made them extra tasty. 3. I suspect the reviewers who said it was too salty forgot to rinse the eggplant after salting? 4. I serve this with 3/4 lb of pasta and it's a wonderful main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Wonderful and easy to make. I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My whole family who would never eat eggplant LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Family didn't like. Glad I tried it but not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Dish was very tasty, butt waaay to salty...the only thing i would do is cut down amount of salt used in the very first step
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My husband never liked eggplant because he has never had an eggplant dish he's liked. But this one he loved. I was so happy. This is such a good recipe. I didn't put green peppers in because I didn't have any. But did add Parmesan cheesed in between each layer of eggplant and then on top with the mozzarella. Once I served the dish onto the plate I added fresh basil leaves. I have to say this is the best eggplant I have ever made or eaten. This recipe is a total keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BristolBlue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Easy, healthy, & delicious! I didn't drain the eggplant (not enough time), and didn't do the second round of 25-30 minutes; cut it back to 10 minutes - just long enough for cheese to melt. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This was decent, but I found it waaayyy too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHCAMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States