Cheesy Chorizo Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I did add about a half of a vidalia onion,fresh sliced mushrooms, double the chorizo (because I really like it) and shredded my own pepper jack but other than that I followed the recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Wanted to try beef chorizo and found this nice surprise! And easy too. I used Roma tomatoes and sliced in large pieces. Didn't have the pepper jack cheese so used shredded cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I needed something new to do other than cooking chorizo and scrambled eggs for MY personal well being. This recipe does everything I needed. It looks extremely versatile. You could do anything with your essentially 1C wilted spinach (I recommend chopping your spinach before cooking for easier slicing!!!) and 2C chopped tomatoes. Use bell peppers/white onion (rinsed of course!)/serranos/tomatoes. Someone suggested mushrooms. You could do other greens besides spinach and you could change cheeses to cheddar or any of the lovely Mexican cheeses (in the round, you know the ones!). Even more fun, you could use Soyrizo instead of the meat kind. You could also flip this to use 8 oz of bacon, 8 oz of sage or farmer's sausage, ground and cooked. Use your imagination. This is a fantastic recipe. I would only suggest leaving it in a bit longer than 25 unless you like a softer scramble. If you like scrambled medium or hard, I suggest ADDING 3-5 cooking time---or just turning off the oven and then setting the table---making sure the edges of the egg do not burn (I used a clear pyrex dish so I could visually check). Overcooking the edges of this dish would just ruin it. I have to say my family did not like this recipe as much as they would have liked plain chorizo/eggs/tortillas--oh well. I consider this a classier, more subtle, more festive dish. Perfect for parties. Also I sliced it in 6ths, but you could try 8ths or even 12ths for a potluck. It is quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
What a simple, yet wonderful recipe - turned out great! I happen to have some button mushrooms on hand as well as some cilantro - I added those to it as well. I did use 7 eggs instead and prolly a little more cheese. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mulligan69

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
It's a miracle... my son will NOT eat tomatoes if it isn't in salsa or ketchup but he ate this!!! Two pieces in fact!!! Everyone else loved it too! I doubled the recipe because my chorizo was a half a pound package, so I cooked it in a 9x13 dish for 28 minutes. Worked fine. I have to admit, it tells you to cook the veggies in the dripping but I just can't let that much grease go into my families stomachs ,so I drained as much as I could from the skillet, put the chorizo on a few paper towel so they would soak most of it up and left only, maybe, a teaspoon of the drippings in there to cook the veggies in. It tasted great and I felt much better getting rid of all that fat. I also have to say I didn't use KRAFT cheese, I used the brand that I had. I will make this again because it resembles a dish my hubby always gets at Mexican restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I found this recipe by doing the ingredient search for spinach and cherry tomatoes, since I had both to use up. Very tasty frittata and so easy to make. I made it exactly like the recipe, except there's one oversight in the instructions: It never mentions to add the chorizo back in. Be sure to stir it in with the egg/milk/cheese mixture before putting the frittata in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Tasty tasty! I didn't have any tomatoes, so I used some diced red pepper and I added some mushrooms I had lying around. I also halved the cheese, because it didn't seem to need that much. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I was looking for different ways to use chorizo. This recipe is a keeper. Hubby loved it! Very easy too! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States