Cheesy Chicken Poblano Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Pretty tasty! I had problems with the cheese... But I should have read ths reviews first for tips on that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Really good! I used 4 poblanos, I added chopped onion, cayenne pepper and used 8 oz of velveeta cheese and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. Made it very creamy and yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
As a soup-junkie, I thought this was delicious! Next time I will nix the roux and use mashed potatoes to thicken instead. I also will not bother to blacken the peppers, too time-comsuming. Very mild spice for the spice-conscious, as written. I altered the recipe by using an onion and minced garlic, roasting the corn in a pan will taco seasoning and pureeing part of the soup to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I wanted to make half of this recipe and knew ahead of time I’d be freezing some of it, so I went about this a little differently. I made the soup, adding some carrot for color and taco seasoning, less cumin and fresh, minced garlic for a little more flavor. I did not make the roux or add the cheese. I just simmered the other ingredients to meld their flavors for about 10 minutes. Then I allowed it to cool, packaged half for the freezer, and refrigerated the other half. When reheating, I made a roux of 1 T. flour and 1 T. butter, tempered it by whisking in a ladle of hot soup and then added it back to the simmering soup. I tasted it at that point and decided I liked it without the cheese, so I didn’t add it, but I may the next time, just to compare. This is a hearty and filling soup, and great for a cold, winter night’s dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
When my husband sat down to dinner, he said, "I don't know, I'll try anything once." That tune quickly changed to "this is really good, we have a keeper." I stayed pretty true to the recipes. For the chicken, I diced up 2 large breasts & sprinkled them with taco seasoning in a sautee pan. When I melted the butter, I threw in a few minced garlic cloves. Instead of mixing the cheese into the soup, I just put some on top when I served the soup. For the tortilla strips, I slice up a couple of shoft taco shells, put a little olive oil on them & baked them in the oven until they were crisp. Really, really tasty soup, lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I didn't have much time to prepare, so I stuck with the main ingredients (minus thickening it with flour), threw it all in the slow cooker and let it cook for 8 hours. The chicken was shredded and the flavor was amazing. I added a little dollop of sour cream and shredded tortilla strips at the end. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilliene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Everyone loved the soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Excellenct soup - I would recommend using more poblanos for a spicier soup - also took a reviewers advice & added some taco seasoning - very good topped with tortilla chips & a little sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was fabulous and super easy to prepare! The only change I made was to lessen the butter and add some taco seasoning. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very tasty and colorful. I was looking for a way to use up my tiny garden poblanos, and this fit the bill perfectly. After making the roux, I added a minced onion, then swapped diced sweet potato for black beans, crushed garlic for powder, and fresh roasted corn-on-the-cob instead of canned. Come January, I don't think that will matter. I'll definitely be making this recipe for a winter warm-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States