Cheesy Chicken Pepper Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Since I am not a pepper person I left them out, still GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I was disappointed with the outcome of this recipe. Perhaps it was because I could not obtain shredded muenster cheese and had to break slices of it up into the sauce mixture. The sauce turned out lumpy instead of smooth (is that normal?), and the taste was very bland. Even after adding lots of garlic powder, the taste was still mediocre. It also seemed awkward over linguine to me. Perhaps over a wild rice would be more appropriate? The sauce mixture took far longer than 10 minutes to thicken even after adding corn starch. The chicken and pepper combination was tasty, but I felt like the recipe was missing an ingredient...possibly onions or more clove garlic...something to add a little more flavor. I prepared a small portion, and I didn't finish it. It was also difficult to stir the sauce mixture (which could very easily burn or stick to your pan), the chicken and pepper mixture, and monitor the boiling linguine all at once. Overall, not worth the hassle, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
This was a very good recipe. I used what I had so I made a few small changes. I used green pepper, more garlic cloves and powder, and seasoned flour instead of cornstarch. The kids liked it, I just didn't give them any of the pepper. You will need to shred the cheese yourself before you add it. This is a simple and tasty dish. Also, I used egg noodles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
The first time I made this recipe, it was lumpy. The second time, I stirred constantly and GRATED the cheese. Its delicious and I love the peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS SUPER!! For those of you who had "chunks" in your sauce, the secret is to heat over med heat, use SHREDDED muenster cheese (or shred it yourself) and STIR CONSTANTLY! I did have to thicken with a tsp of cornstarch. To avoid the "lack of taste" complaint, when frying the chicken, I diced half an onion and threw in a minced garlic clove. Along with sauting the red bell peppers, I also threw in some fresh sliced mushrooms and seasoned it all with 1 tsp garlic powder (and used another tsp of garlic powder in the sauce). This recipe really delivers if you can master it. It's really not difficult but you have to pay attention to the sauce. Serve with a tossed salad and breadsticks to soak up the sauce and you have a great meal. I received praise from my entire family! Thank you Heidi for being so inventive and sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
It was alright. We had left overs so I took them to work the next day for lunch and it was excellent that next day. I don't know if 24hrs did anything or I was just more hungry. I may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
This recipe was pretty good. Next time I will add some additional vegetables such as yellow squash or zuchinni. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This recipe sounded very good but never actually made it through the cooking process. The sauce never turned out and I ended up scrapping the whole thing before it even finished. I used the chicken and mushrooms and added some terriyaki sauce to them and served it over pasta. At least that turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Fairly easy to make. This recipe makes A LOT of food. My Fiancee liked it - that says it all! We'll have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is one of the first pasta recipes I ever tried from this site and I have been making almost once per month for the last 6 months! Its wonderful and I have impressed many a guest who have been over to eat dinner with me! The cheese doesn't melt easily. There will be a few small shreds of cheese that just seem impossible to melt entirely. The trick is (as another stated) to stir constantly and once it is smooth...its done. Trust me, once over a bed of noodles, the small clumps (if any) aren't noticable in taste or appearance. HOWEVER, if you overcook the sauce (which I accidently found out once) the sauce will seperate. Be sure not to overcook!! I love this dish and am soo pleased with it, I just had to add my comments!! Thank you Heidi! If you have more recipes like this, pass them on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States