Cheesy Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
EDIT- You can reduce to 1 egg - I was doubling this recipe from my original to serve more people but realized the 2 eggs is probably a bit much - would be fine with 1 for those having trouble making balls out of them. It's hard in the beginning but they result in a moist meatball. :)Also, you can add more breadcrumbs to balance out the moistness if you are having trouble. AND I just noticed in the directions/ingredients, that oil is added to the mixture - I don't add any oil to this mixture - I only spray the baking sheet with oil. :S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
So delicious! I subbed laughing cow garlic and herb for the cream cheese, olive oil for the veggie oil and added slightly more bread crumbs and they came out fanastic! The chicken mixture is very sticky as others have said so I used 2 soons to get it to the baking sheet. A little tip: if your meat balls are all wonky looking just spray your hands with a little cooking spray and reshape once they are on the baking sheet. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I will start by saying that, without a doubt, this recipe surprised me the most of any in months! This is a good thing. Don't get me wrong, it's not like I expected them to be bad, but I've never made anything with ground chicken, and I've heard a lot of negative things about using it. But, I followed the recipe as written, using very soft cream cheese, olive oil for the oil and fresh herbs. I MIGHT have added a bit more bread crumbs, but I can't say for sure. I did use my 1/8 cup scoop because I only have the use of one hand, currently, so I got about 30 meatballs out of the recipe. :) After mentioning an idea, and getting some feedback in the RE, I decided to try to create a complimentary sauce to serve these with pasta, so I made a sage/cream sauce and tossed it with penne rigate. SO GOOD! :) Thank you, Raquel, for the opportunity to branch out, and mis7up for the "name game" which made me make these, sooner rather than later. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I think these are great. The recipe submitter suggests using only 1 egg; AR won't let you modify a published recipe, so she can't "fix" it, and so it is up to the reader to read the top reviews (she's #1). Using only one egg eliminates most of the stickiness issue. Beyond that, this is just what ground chicken IS -- it's soft and squishy and no amount of stuff added in is going to make it into ground beef texture, so don't try, or you'll wind up with dry meatballs -- or gross breadcrumb-flavored meatballs. I reduced the salt in this recipe by half and thought it was delicious. I made no other changes but next time I might try fresh garlic instead of garlic powder, just because. Thanks for the recipe, Raquel! (P.S. Use a cookie scoop, one with a trigger release, to form any meatballs but especially chicken and turkey ones!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I was starving when I made this, so I made one chicken patty along with the meatballs and ate the patty first with a piece of colby jack cheese melted on top and saved the meatballs for dinner. I have found my new chicken burger recipe. As some viewers mentioned, the meatballs had a strong garlic taste but I did not notice this as much in the patty. Served the meatballs later with spaghetti sauce. Yummy thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Great meatballs! The cream cheese kept them from drying out and I did have to use a lot more breadcrumbs though to hold them together better. Instead of Italian seasoning I used fresh rosemary, oregano, parsley and thyme. I served them with some creamy sage pasta and sauce! We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made these meatballs as directed (except for using regular cream cheese) and thought the Italian seasoning was a little strong and that the red pepper flakes were a little much. Next time I'd decrease both by at least half. I used an ice cream scoop to portion out my meatballs - I didn't fill it all the way so they came out a little wonky, but it kept my hands clean :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used turkey instead of Chicken. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was fantastic! I really had my doubts and everything was yummy. I followed the recipie almost to the letter. I didn't have the Garlic cream cheese on hand so I used regular cream cheese. It still had lots of flavor and kids loved it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Swift

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good but on the spicy side. Next time I would decrease the crushed pepper by 1/2. I used a small ice cream scoop to form the meatballs - very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States