Cheesy Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I tried it using all the most popular suggestions. They came out dry with one egg and 1 Tbl of bread crumbs and too browned on the bottom. Recommend dropping the heat to 350F. Probably does need a bit of fat (oil) in mixture to keep it moist. I omitted it. Will be fine with a sauce of some kind over it. This recipe really wants to be good but it takes so much work to get it right. How can you go wrong with the garlic cream cheese and Parm cheese but the texture and flavor didn't cut it for our family. Might skip the mammals and next time try this basic recipe over a white fish broiled with a splash of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this last night. I only used 1 egg, and it was plenty to keep the mixture bonded. I reduced the red pepper flakes to just a few shakes, and did not add oil to mix. It didn't need it. Used someone's tip to oil my hands to make it easier to roll the meatballs. Don't neglect to oil your sheets, they will stick, even with using non-stick foil or stoneware sheets! My 7yo son LOVED them, so did my husband. Great way to perk up ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very messy to make and very spicy. I would recommend reducing the red pepper flake by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Glad I cut back on the red pepper flakes! They were still a bit spicy. Very flavourful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except for using only one egg and using more breadcrumbs like other people suggested. I found it to be way too garlic-y and pepper-y. Next time I make it I'll reduce the garlic powder to 1 teaspoon, and halve the pepper and the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very good recipe. We are eating a heart smart low fat low sodium diet so I made so adjustments. I doubled the recipe to put some into the freezer for later. I used regular 1/3 the fat cream cheese and added 3 fresh minced garlic gloves. I used Egg Beaters instead of whole eggs and increased the bread crumbs to make the mixture easier to work with. I only put in half the salt and used sea salt instead of table salt. I only cooked them for 15 minutes and the internal temp was just right...I will put these with some homemade sauce and whole wheat pasta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was so different than I was expecting. Of course, not your average meatball like beef, but different yet very tasty! Don't know why lots are complaining about the mess, yes, it is messy, but since the ground chicken doesn't have any fat, it washes right off, without that greasy feeling beef gives. I used whole wheat pasta and a garden marinara sauce, and it was really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These were great. I am like you I have gone to ground turkey and chicken over beef and most people have still not noticed it. The ones who won't eat it I just don't tell them it is chicken, works for me. Great recipe ! Thanks for sharing!! I added real garlic and left out the crushed red peppers for cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Mmmm!! These were absolutely delightful. I had make my own spice blend because apparently I was out of the required spices. The consistency of the 'balls' worried me at first because they were so goopy but... having used used the full two eggs and only a teaspoon of bread crumbs(GF)and it worked out surprisingly well. I also substituted mozzarella in for the Parmesan, and it worked. I'm glad to have found a delicious recipe that can easily be made organic and gluten-free. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
These taste VERY similar to sausage balls. I only used 1 egg... only 1 was needed. A little bland though. Next time I will add some onion powder. To make them taste even more like sausage balls, substitute the parmesan for cheddar and add ground sage! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States