Cheesy Chicken Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We really liked this recipe though I cut back on measurements on a couple ingredients based on other reviews. I used one egg. I used 1 tsp of garlic powder b/c I know the tbsp would of been garlic overkill for me. I used half the pepper and red pepper flakes for our tastes and it was just the right heat for us. Did not use italian seasoning b/c my bread crumbs had that in it. Also, I didn't have cream cheese so I substituted pureed cottage cheese based on substitutions info from this website. I used a scoop to dip the meatballs b/c i hate the gooey mess of forming meatballs. We enjoyed these and i'll surely make them again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
These didnt look or taste like meatballs to me but they were tasty and my kids ate them. I have little meatball making experience, but the consistency of these didnt allow me to roll them into shape. I kind of dropped spoonfulls like I would for cookies. I will try again and maybe change my rating to a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I used ground pork instead of chicken. 2 eggs for the ground pork seem too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was a great recipe!! I didn't follow it to a T but I used it as a base. Here are the modifications I made. I used 1 egg, olive oil in place of vegetable, instead of 1 TBSP garlic powder I only used 1 tsp garlic powder and added about 4 gloves of fresh garlic (grated). I also used plain low fat cream cheese, because I couldn't find the garlic roasted one. And instead of Italian seasoning (because I didn't have any) I used fresh basil (about 2 tsp), 1/2 tsp dried parsley, and 1/2 tsp dried oregano. I got about 12 meatball from this because I made them pretty big, and I stuffed fresh mozzarella cheese in 1/2 of them. I also used an ice cream scoop and a spoon to form the balls - to keep hands clean and get them rounded pretty good!. I baked them on 425 for about 25 minutes (my fire alarm usually goes off if my oven is over 400 so I'm surprised I was able to get it to 425). Then I threw them in my pot of marinara sauce for about 10 minutes. They were amazing! Definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
very good recipe!!!! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used this to cook Russian kotleti, pan fried instead of baked, used one egg, and real garlic, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I tried it using all the most popular suggestions. They came out dry with one egg and 1 Tbl of bread crumbs and too browned on the bottom. Recommend dropping the heat to 350F. Probably does need a bit of fat (oil) in mixture to keep it moist. I omitted it. Will be fine with a sauce of some kind over it. This recipe really wants to be good but it takes so much work to get it right. How can you go wrong with the garlic cream cheese and Parm cheese but the texture and flavor didn't cut it for our family. Might skip the mammals and next time try this basic recipe over a white fish broiled with a splash of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this last night. I only used 1 egg, and it was plenty to keep the mixture bonded. I reduced the red pepper flakes to just a few shakes, and did not add oil to mix. It didn't need it. Used someone's tip to oil my hands to make it easier to roll the meatballs. Don't neglect to oil your sheets, they will stick, even with using non-stick foil or stoneware sheets! My 7yo son LOVED them, so did my husband. Great way to perk up ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very messy to make and very spicy. I would recommend reducing the red pepper flake by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Glad I cut back on the red pepper flakes! They were still a bit spicy. Very flavourful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States