Cheesy Chicken and Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was very good. I did season with some garlic and crushed red pepper for some kick. My family enjoyed this as well. I think next time I might just leave out the cheese altogether. It was good with cheese but I think it may be better without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. First time I've used Goya Yellow Rice, and I can't say enough about it, it simply tastes like the real deal. No more Vigo, Goya is the brand I'll use moving forward. This recipe is quick enough for a weeknight meal, and your family will love you for making this. I agree with previous reviewers that the cheese really isn't necessary, I won't be using it the next time. This one's going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
So easy and yet so good! I seasoned three good sized chicken breasts with Goya's Adobo Seasoning and grilled them first. I took a bit of a short cut and used the microwave directions on the inside packet for the rice. I just added the chopped onion and green pepper to it and microwaved it according to the instructions. The last few minutes of cooking I threw in a can of diced tomatoes (drained). Once it was done, I sliced the chicken breast and added that along with some reduced fat cheddar cheese. Dinner was ready in no time! All I had to add was a garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Quick and Easy meal. My kids helped me make it and 3 out of 4 liked it. My husband said this would be something good for lunches during the week. I did sub an orange bell pepper over green because that is what I had on hand but no other substitutions or additions were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Terry E.
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Can't believe every Goya recipe I try... I LOVE! My wife said, WoW this is right up my alley! Another Keeper... Goya yellow rice so easy so good! I served with a simple chopped side salad and loved every comfortable bite,comfort food at it's best. Another winner winner Goya dinner in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
GOYA Adobo seasoning makes everything better, this dish was amazing and so quick to whip up! I added in a can of shoepeg white corn and GOYA kidney beans...it makes a lot, but none went to waste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Flavorful, but needed some tweaking. I sliced a sautéed chicken breast and served on top of the rice. Rice mixture is salty. Contains MSG and Yellow Dye No. 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I thought this was pretty good. I mostly have tried the Goya beans and this was my first time trying the boxed rice and even the Adobo seasoning. The Adobo seasoning, is very much in taste to me like a mix between garlic powder and garlic salt. I will definitely use it in other recipes. Using both items made for a very quick meal with seasoning built right in. I liked how this recipe also incorporated fresh tomatoes, a green pepper, and onion. The only thing is I really liked the chicken and rice before adding the cheese. It tasted more authentic to me and I am actually surprised I made a chicken and rice dish that looked like it took more time than it actually did to make. Possibly, the cheese makes it more kid friendly though. The second thing is, it was a little more salty than I normally make food. However, the Adobo seasoning amount says season to taste, and I may have just went too heavy handed on that. Either way, TY Goya for the quick and easy meal idea to get dinner on the table this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I left out the cheese to make this a bit healthier. This was good! Great flavor and very colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Not my favorite meal ever, but quick, easy, colorful and filling. I feel like the salt content was very high, but I found some low-sodium yellow rice that I'd like to try with. Also, I think changing the cheese (maybe pepper jack!) would kick it up another notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States