Cheesy Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Too bland, even with adjustments. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
OK, this is a great beginning. To "kick it up a notch" try adding some sliced water chestnuts, extra sharp Cheddar (3 cups instead of 2), an additional can of soup (Cheddar cheese soup or cream of celery), some milk or mayonnaise to make it more creamy, cooked broccoli, and some curry powder. Also, saute the chicken in strips with onions and chopped celery in oil or butter first, sprinkled with a little curry powder. Then mix it all together well with the broccoli and rice. Put it into a glass casserole dish. Top it with crushed Ritz crackers which have been coated with melted butter. Bake until bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I took the advice of previous reviews. I used 1 can Cream of Mushroom, 1 Can Cheddar Cheese Soup. Added 1 can of sliced mushrooms, used brown rice instead of white. 1 cup of Cheddar cheese mixed in, sliced muenster (needed to use it up) on top, then topped with Ritz cracker crumbs. I thought it was way too cheesy, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe is pretty good, as long as you follow many of the other suggestions that have been provided by other reviewers. I cook the meat in a saucepan with garlic, pepper and salt. I also use a bit more topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chassell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was great.. i of course made changes again..lol cant seem to leave anything alone. I took the advise of one person and did add some broccoli, also used broccoli and cheese soup instead of the cream of chicken. i topped this with some french fried onions and some extra cheese right at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA097

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe has become one of my family's favorite comfort food dishes. Out of necessity once we made it with cream of mushroom instead of chicken, and it was so good we've made it that way ever since! I also like to add some lightly sauteed garlic from time to time. Overall, a great family dish even the kids will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSILLZ
Home Town: Fruita, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Ok, this is an edited review! I have been making this for YEARS but never make it exactly the way the recipe states as I did once and it turned out pretty bland. But, this is a great base recipe to expand on! I always add a can of cheese soup - sometimes cheddar cheese & sometimes pepper jack cheese. I also use crushed ritz crackers mixed with some melted butter to top it with. I make Charlies Mexican Style Meat, also on this site, and use chicken instead of beef & double the recipe for all sorts of dishes - and this chicken & rice casserole is one of my favorite things to use the meat in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Oldest liked it. Add less pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This was really very good!! At first I thought it sounded a little strange placing cubes of bread on top, but once you taste it all together, it's very good. My husband and I both enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laydeebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States