Cheesy Catfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great soup but i made some changes as well. First off I cooked my potatoes in the chicken stock (quartered and peeled). I sauteed the onions and celery separate while the potatoes cooked. When the potatoes were still firm but not soft I added a complete small carton of heavy whipping cream and the done celery and onions. After this I added baby carrots (left whole)and I used 4 pieces of cod (each piece cut into 4 pieces) loin instead of catfish (didn't have any. I also added cajun seasoning and some mesquite seasoning. When I add the cheese I will also be adding some chopped red pepper so it can still be slightly firm when eaten. I want to try topping with bacon next time like one reader suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was just okay as far as fish chowders go. I have another recipe from this site that I like better, but I wanted to try this one because of the cheese. It wasn't bad, just not good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Homemade celery salt (1/2 Himalayan salt, 1/2 toasted crumbled celery leaves), 1 Bay leaf, fresh black pepper, tilapia fillets (they don't eat poop, unlike catfish), & 2 c. shredded medium cheddar. Tasted fantastic & we ate way too much of it. I cooked the celery with the onions but forgot to add the broth & H2O till close to the end, after the fish was cooked, yet it still came out well. Also cooked it longer so the potatoes & carrots would be soft. Next time will eat it with brown rice & lots of water to try to avoid pigging out on it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Took a leap of faith and tried this out with 4 Swai fillets I bought on a whim and WOW am I impressed! Only changes I made were to increase the celery salt, salt, and pepper to taste and add marjoram, basil, oregano, parsley (about 1/2-1 tsp of each), 1 fresh thyme sprig, 1 bay leaf, and a dash paprika to the spices. Also, I didn't have any celery on hand so I used frozen peas instead and I used Mexican blend shredded cheese. It's soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Black

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Very nice. I agree with another cook that suggested a dash of curry. It made the dish. I also added garlic, bay leaf, parsley, hot sauce and paprika. This recipe will be a good base for other seafoods or meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wow. Just, wow. I've never eaten fish soups. I'm pretty particular about my fish and am always fearful of "fishy" fish, in smell or taste, thus the idea of fish in a chowder made me very nervous. I don't even like clam chowder! But, I wanted to do something different with the catfish in the freezer so I thought I'd give this a try. Boy, am I glad I did!! It was so delicious! I cooked it exactly as is, only adding a pinch or so of garlic powder (I can't help it..). Then, when I poured it into the bowls to serve, I added a dash of dried parsley and a sprinkle of creole seasoning (based on another review). Perfection! Interestingly, I couldn't taste the fish at all! Just cheesy, creamy, potato-y, yumminess. Thanks! (Next time I'll add a little more of the creole because I liked the little bit of spice but it's totally not necessary..)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SailorJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I only had about 3/4 lb catfish and I felt it was plenty. I very nice chowder recipe. Not too heavy. I might try adding some corn next time or maybe a bit of curry. Update. Made this again, actually forgot I had made it before until went to review! Used 1/2 tsp curry and it was lovely. Also left out the water and used two packets of boulion with 1 c water. Only used 1/4 c regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Great soup! Added some cajun seasoning and a splash of Tapatio and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My boyfriend had me rate this 5 stars which is a very big deal! I added some extra ingredients: a couple tablesoons of Cajun seasoning (didn't measure), a bay leave, and a couple teaspoons of curry powder (also didn't measure). The curry powder makes it - it's what changed the vote from a 4 to a 5. Also cooked the veggies longer so they were soft. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I've made this many times and it always turns out great! The only thing different I do is change the 1 1/2 cups of milk to a 12 ounce can of evaporated milk to make it richer. A no-fail, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States