Cheesy Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I sauteed the onions in butter and added some garlic. Then about half the amount of green bell pepper and parsley (sauteed them as well). (I don't get on well with bell peppers; I also reduced the cheese a bit) I used a potato masher for the cooked carrots and added about 1/4 cup of chicken broth. My guests like the dish as did my family (two teenaged boys). The consistency was not smooth (not like mashed potatoes) but we liked the texture. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
It was delicious!!! A great way to eat carrots; I didn't have any peppers but still came out great. TY for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe is a yummy, different take on carrots. I do, however, agree with the reviewers who said it could use a bit more flavor. The next time I make it I will probably add some green onion. Very good over all though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
These were really great. They are very similar to mashed sweet potatoes. I was really surprised how much flavor carrots have. I did add some milk to the recipe because it seemed a little dry to me. I will make this recipe again, however, I think the next time I will leave the bread crumbs off. I used finely ground crumbs and they did not brown, although the carrots did and it did not add any flavor, just made the dish messier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden Beach, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I was a little skeptical of this recipe and was worried about the review below that said it was bland. So I liberally used ground white pepper and garlic powder and ended up with a great side dish! Different, easy, colorful and yummy! It doesn't get five stars because it was a little too cheesy for my taste. I prefer lighter methods in the preparation of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONHALEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
Everyone loved this recipie!! I baked it in a more shallow pan so they were a little dry so bake them in a deeper pan. And also whip the carrots until they are really creamy not just mashed they will blend with the other ingredients better. But I really loved this recipie you can add whatever veggies you like!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Nice change of pace for a side dish. I agree with other reviewers...Add 1/3 cup milk to overcome dryness and reduce breadcrumbs to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This is a good recipe. I didn't use the green bell pepper because to me, they can have an overpowering flavor. Oddly enough, an old boss' wife made a similar dish for dinner one evening except the carrots weren't mashed. I decided to use this addition and it was fabulous. Fried it up, drained it, patted it with paper towels, crushed it and threw it in before popping it in the oven. Bacon...always a winner in our household. Thanks so much, Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Here's the thing with this recipe: I wanted to follow it exact, I usually do when making it for the first time. The problem was that I was out of sharp cheddar cheese, which could have been a problem, but Costco just talked me into buying some horseradish cheddar. Since I saw a few other recipes for carrots that had horseradish I thought, hey it's worth a shot. And guess what, this turned out delicious!!! Chock one up to Costco for making me buy some weird ol' cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States