Cheesy Campfire Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made this for a campout I just returned from. They went over sooo well! I made it at home and stuck it in the cooler. I also used a foil pan I purchased at the dollar store so I didn't have any cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Yum! I added a couple slices of crumbled up bacon left over from breakfast, didn't have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by la belle vie
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
i tweaked these to personal preference. I subsituted onion powder for the onions, left out the butter and only used a colby jack cheese blend. these were amazing! i sliced them really thin and they didn't take 20 minutes to cook on my gas grill. i will be using variations of this recipe all through the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by la belle vie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is GREAT!!!!! I add some bell pepper and sometimes some little smokies and this becomes a great outdoors meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Perfect! Used 6 good size yukon gold potatoes and made 2 pouches. I used a gas grill low setting for 35 minutes turning the pouches every 5 minutes. My kids don't like onion so I substituted onion powder, but sliced onion would definatly be tasty here. Increased butter to 4 T. I skipped the mozzarella but increased the cheddar to 1 1/4 cups. The potatoes were moist, but crisp around the edges with molten cheese. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were AMAZING! The leftovers were great with breakfast too. We'll make this whenever we camp, from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
duh. amazing. 'nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I prebaked my potatoes before heading out for the great outdoors (left the potatoes whole until ready to assemble). Used butter vs margarine, added fresh minced garlic plus more cheddar and less mozzarella to the mix. Though I imagine any mix of cheese would be just as good. Placing them on your campfire grill imparts that wonderful smokey flavor that just can't be duplicated anywhere but under the stars camping..... Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We make these often when camping. Followed this recipe pretty much except had no Mozzarella cheese. Different potatoes take different times. We had Idaho and they take a good hour to cook well enough. Red potatoes will cook in the time recipe specifies. We have added bacon we had leftover from breakfast before and that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States