Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This was delicious! I did make a few revisions though. I could not get a hold of butternut squash, so I went with yellowneck squash. So to keep the butternut squash "theme" I used 1/2 cup of butternut squash soup and 1/2 cup of chicken stock. I also added mushrooms to the recipe as well. All in all, it turned out great! Something I will definitely use in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought the taste was wonderful. I did make a couple changes based on what I had though. I didn't have milk (doh!), so I substituted light sour cream instead. As the other reviewer suggested, I added mushrooms. I used about 3/4 of a cup of fresh shitake and button mushrooms, but next time, I think I'll double the mushrooms. I also added about 1/4 cup of blown sugar. I thought the dish was a little bland, and the sugar allowed the flavors to blend wonderfully. I think next time I will also use more apple and cut the pieces a little bigger. I had cut then into 1/4 inch pieces, but next time I will do 1/2-3/4 inch pieces so you can taste the apple more. Well, my husband liked it, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I was looking for an idea of what to do with butternut squash so I tried this out. I like that all of the ingredients are things that are normally in the kitchen. The sauce was sweet and savory and cheesy and delicious. Next time I think I will puree it when done so that it covers the pasta better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this recipes (almost) as directed and was unhappy with the final look of the sauce. The cheese did not melt into the sauce; it just kind of "glommed" onto the other vegetables. It also did not thicken much. This may have been due to the fact that I could only get a Mexican cheese blend and perhaps the Italian cheese blend would have melted appropriately. It may also have been that the temperature was too hight I don't know BUT.....I added a 1/4 brown sugar and puree'd the whole thing until it looked a bit like a very thick squash soup. I served it over pasta with a sprinkling of fresh parsley and some parmesan cheese and my husband LOVED it! He said it was one of the most orginal and tasty pasta dishes I have ever made. He even asked for more sauce to put on his pasta half way through his serving. I will try making this again with an Italian cheese blend as I would like a more chunky look for the sauce but it's great to know that the fall back position (if it does not work) will still be a big hit with my family. Thanks for a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I am eager to try this recipe. A couple of weeks ago I had the butternut squash ravioli at Cactus Club Cafe and loved it....this sounds easier. I found an online recipe for the ravioli and it called for nutmeg, I think this would make a tasty addition to the sauce. I like the idea of adding a little brown sugar as well, I will try that. Thanks for all the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was such an awesome idea and really good recipe. Live in S.Africa and Butternut is super cheap when bought in bulk so I needed some creative ideas on what to do with them. I made a few changes do to lack of ingredients in this country and tweaked to our liking. I added about half a cup of chopped mushrooms and 5 garlic cloves because it can never be to garlicky. Used a whole small apple and since we do not have very much italian cheese in this country and what we do have is SUPER expensive. So I used something that is called Tussers cheese here that is white and Parmesan that is in a shaker and it turned out awesome. The reason I gave 4 stars is because my husband used to be a cook and he said it was a 4 star recipe. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I made a few changes though... I used medium-ish sized butternut squash- didn't measure it (cut in half, scooped out seeds & strings, baked cut side up at 400F for 45 minutes then cut side down for another 15-10 minutes & it was ready), I chopped up the 1/3 cup of onion/whole apple/4 cloves of garlic in a food processor then sauteed in EVOO/butter. No stock so used 3/4 cup water + chicken bouillon cube, 1/2 cup soy milk, 1/3 cup 5% cooking cream then mashed the sauce to make more smooth (the sauce has texture unless you were to strain it before the addition of cheese) and then added a cheddar garlic-herb cheese blend. I forgot to mention how I seasoned the sauce... Dash each of onion salt/pepper/ginger/cinnamon, good pinch of nutmeg and about 2 TBsps. brown sugar. Savoury, but with a little sweetness. It's not perfect, so but definitely something you can tweak to your liking... Some reviewers mention adding mushrooms, I think that would add a nice meat-y taste to the sauce and will try that next time if i have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was great. Sweet and savory. I only had parmasan on hand so I used that and also had to add more liquid to get it thinned out for my noodles. Next time I'd like to puree it. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good sauce.... different and fun. Not too difficult, and doesn't require crazy ingredients. The sauce seemed a tiny bit bland, so I added quite a bit of salt. Next time I'll try adding some brown sugar like others suggested. I also put about 2/3 of the sauce in my Magic Bullet/Blender and then mixed back together with the rest (but that's personal preference, and because I knew my kids wouldn't want the chunks). It was a bit thick, so I added more milk. The husband liked it, but didn't seem to loooove it, so I'm giving it 4 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States