Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This turned out incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Despite following the directors, this turned out nothing like the picture. The squash didn't really mash up into the sauce (and it never even tells you to mash) and the cheese didn't spread very well, so it was just clumped here and there throughout. Overall, it's also not a very flavorful sauce, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Loved it! My changes: only had Parmesan on hand (and added a little extra), added fresh Chanterelle mushrooms to the sauté, and added a little cumin, thyme, oregano and parsley. Served over rotini pasta with crumbled bacon on top. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this vegan by using some almond milk in place of regular milk, using double the olive oil and omitting the butter, using vegetable broth in place of chicken broth, and shredded soy mozzarella in place of the italian cheeses. it still turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Other than roasting my squash (cut lengthwise, drizzled with oil, made a tiny pool of oil in the cavity where I placed a clove of garlic and baked at 375 until squash was soft and cooked through), I followed the ingredients in this recipe exactly. When I was done I sampled and it was pretty bland. I added more salt and pepper to taste, more cheese and a hint of ground sage (not a big sage fan but it's quite tasty with butternut squash). I thought the sweetness was enough but I think it also depends on what kind of apple you use. I used a honeycrisp apple because they are awesome (sweet and tart) and I don't think I would have enjoyed this recipe as much if it were any sweeter. I also put the mixture in the food processor but left it a little chunky. Even the hubby liked it and he's a fussy pain in the you-know-what to cook for. Anyways, after those modifications I would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really, really good! I did change it a bit because my guy was worried it would be too sweet, so instead of the apple, I used a little less than 1 can of crushed tomatoes, and it was perfect. I also roasted the squash in the oven at 350 for about an hour instead of boiling it, and added some basil and oregano. It ended up being comparable to the fancy-schmancy gourmet butternut squash sauce I get in the store on occasion. This is awesome, and you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This tasted good and I was excited about it but it just not fly as a main dish, perhaps a side. After a few bites it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I am trying to find new ways to enjoy butternut squash. The sauce was a good consistancey. My husband didn't like it at all but I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make! I added a bit more apple and onion than recipe called for but it turned out yummy. I served the sauce on linguini and topped it with crumbled bacon. My daughters gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Awesome. I would use more apple next time because I couldn't taste it as much as I was hoping for. Only change I made was to blend the sauce as a final step to make it completely smooth, but I'm sure it'd be great slightly chunky too. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States