Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this vegan by using some almond milk in place of regular milk, using double the olive oil and omitting the butter, using vegetable broth in place of chicken broth, and shredded soy mozzarella in place of the italian cheeses. it still turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracewright90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Other than roasting my squash (cut lengthwise, drizzled with oil, made a tiny pool of oil in the cavity where I placed a clove of garlic and baked at 375 until squash was soft and cooked through), I followed the ingredients in this recipe exactly. When I was done I sampled and it was pretty bland. I added more salt and pepper to taste, more cheese and a hint of ground sage (not a big sage fan but it's quite tasty with butternut squash). I thought the sweetness was enough but I think it also depends on what kind of apple you use. I used a honeycrisp apple because they are awesome (sweet and tart) and I don't think I would have enjoyed this recipe as much if it were any sweeter. I also put the mixture in the food processor but left it a little chunky. Even the hubby liked it and he's a fussy pain in the you-know-what to cook for. Anyways, after those modifications I would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was really, really good! I did change it a bit because my guy was worried it would be too sweet, so instead of the apple, I used a little less than 1 can of crushed tomatoes, and it was perfect. I also roasted the squash in the oven at 350 for about an hour instead of boiling it, and added some basil and oregano. It ended up being comparable to the fancy-schmancy gourmet butternut squash sauce I get in the store on occasion. This is awesome, and you should try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This tasted good and I was excited about it but it just not fly as a main dish, perhaps a side. After a few bites it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I am trying to find new ways to enjoy butternut squash. The sauce was a good consistancey. My husband didn't like it at all but I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very tasty and easy to make! I added a bit more apple and onion than recipe called for but it turned out yummy. I served the sauce on linguini and topped it with crumbled bacon. My daughters gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Awesome. I would use more apple next time because I couldn't taste it as much as I was hoping for. Only change I made was to blend the sauce as a final step to make it completely smooth, but I'm sure it'd be great slightly chunky too. Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was really good! Although I did make a few changes: we were out of apples so I skipped that and added garbanzo beans for protein and a little texture. Mashed the squash before putting it in skillet, and added a 1/2-ish tsp of cumin. My 5-year old's comment: "this is really delicious Mom!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Good sauce.... different and fun. Not too difficult, and doesn't require crazy ingredients. The sauce seemed a tiny bit bland, so I added quite a bit of salt. Next time I'll try adding some brown sugar like others suggested. I also put about 2/3 of the sauce in my Magic Bullet/Blender and then mixed back together with the rest (but that's personal preference, and because I knew my kids wouldn't want the chunks). It was a bit thick, so I added more milk. The husband liked it, but didn't seem to loooove it, so I'm giving it 4 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was great. Sweet and savory. I only had parmasan on hand so I used that and also had to add more liquid to get it thinned out for my noodles. Next time I'd like to puree it. Tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States