Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this tonight. It was incredible. A buttery sauce with a hint of garlic all to be delighted with this slight sweet taste with every bite of the pasta. Used Rotini in order to get the most sauce and every pasta bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Burroughs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Another way to prepare this is to use the frozen pureed butternut squash. It's in a box type of container that you microwave. Make a rue with butter and flour and a little milk. When thick add in butternut squash and parm cheese. Loosen with more milk if needed. I then stir in grated nutmeg and a little chopped fresh or dried sage, salt, pepper. Incorporate mixture with cooked pasta, I use shells, put into butterd dish, sprinkle with a mixture of panko, seasoned breadcrumbs, a little more parm, and melted butter. Sprinkle on to and bake 35 to 45 minutes or till bubbly and browned. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I tried to veganize and de-glutenize this dish by substituting with Quinoa pasta, vegan buttery spread, vegetable stock, soy milk and nutritional yeast. It was okay. If anyone has further ideas on how to do this more successfully and with more flavor, please let me know. I'm sure the original was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I had to make this just to see what it tastes like. The additions change the taste of the squash, so it's not exactly like just putting squash on pasta. It has a little more spice to it. Good and interesting variation. Worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Really bland. I added some curry powder which seemed to help it a bit. I made as directed except for the milk, I used Greek yogurt. Maybe more apple for sweetness will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I never had butternut squash before and this pasta sauce was the most amazing thing I have ever had on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Cheers to you, SPEARL, for creating one of only two ways my children will eat squash! Thank you! I did not have that kind of cheese on hand so I threw in a mismatch of what I had and it was great. (parm, goat, mozzarella, and creamy swiss) Blending was also key for me since it made it look a lot more like "mac and cheese".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I thought this was delicious! I did use extra garlic and onion and quite a bit of salt and pepper to accommodate our tastes. I used an immersion blender at the end to smoothe the sauce out and served it over plain cheese ravioli and was very pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
TO DIE FOR! Rich, buttery, and a delicious mix of sweet and savoury. I am in love (shhh, don't tell my husband...). I followed this recipe almost to a T, the only changes I made were to use a slightly different blend of cheeses (parmesan, asiago, smoked provolone, and mozzarella, as this was the only Italian blend my grocery store had to offer), and also, once I had simmered the sauce to my desired consistency I found it a bit too chunky for my/my husband's liking, so I pureed it in the blender. It came out so creamy and rich and wonderful,my husband and I both loved it and we will definitely be making this again. SOON! I think I will try it with heavy cream in place of the milk as well, just for a change, as that would make it even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States