Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe and absolutely loved it! My new macaroni and "cheese!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
First of all this sauce is so much prettier in bulk! I will take a picture next time as there will be a next time! After reading reviews I made some simple changes. I mashed the squash before putting it in the sauce - I added a tad (maybe a 1/4 cup) of brown sugar, some sage and nutmeg and used most of the apple. What I mean by bulk is that we served it over frozen spinach and cheese ravioli (well I did cook it LOL)so the presentation was very nice! Hubby was hesitant at 1st but went for seconds quite quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
So yummy! I used about a half a cup to a cup of applesauce instead of an apple and I pureed the squash first before combining it with the other ingredients. It came out so smooth with a perfect balance of flavors without being too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is phenomenal! I wasn't paying attention and used an entire apple (fuji). heavy on the onion. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My family and I thought this was delicious! First of all, I put it in the food processor to get the smooth texture that shows up in the picture. I don't think it would have gotten there with just cooking it longer. Also, I made it with almond milk because my son is allergic to cow's milk. I made cheese ravioli and topped it with this sauce, toasted walnuts, and Parmesan cheese. I served it with garlic bread and a salad. All agreed, it was a delicious vegetarian meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apryllshowers
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very simple and yummy recipe. And it was good even without onion and two of the cheeses that I did not have on hand. Can't wait to try it again with all the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apryllshowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Like some of the others, I initially found this to lack some depth. That could have been due to the specific broth I used which wasn't as rich as I would have liked. I was surprised that the sweetness of the apple did not come through. There was no mention of what kind of apple would be best for this. I had a Fuji on hand, so that's what I used. I'll try others next time. Because of the thin-flavored broth and the lack of sweetness from the apple, the garlic just ended up overpowering the sauce, so I'd probably cut the garlic in half. Despite all of this, I did enjoy the sauce. But I did have to make some modifications to appeal to my kids. I added a lot more cheese and blended the sauce. I also added a pinch of oregano at the end to give it a little more flavor. Served with liberal amounts of Parmesan on top. My older child had seconds, and the second griped his way through it, but I was thrilled he ate as much of the veggies as he did (I also let him crumble corn chips over it - I didn't have bread crumbs or crackers...the things I do to appeal to a young palate). To the poster who asked why the recipe didn't look like the photo, the photos were taken by others who pureed their sauce, not the original poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I made a little larger batch, so I increased all of the ingredients, except the garlic. I could eat this all week long and my guests really liked it too. Some even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made! I have never been a huge fan of butternut squash but wanted to give it another try, and I'm so glad I did. I took suggestions from others and made it vegan using olive oil for butter, coconut milk, and shredded soy cheese. I also used the entire apple and didn't peel it first. It was absolutely delicious. I had planned on putting it over pasta, but it was so good that I just ate it plain. I bought a two pound bag of diced butternut squash at Trader Joe's and used about half of it for this recipe. I sure am glad I bought that big bag because I'm going to make another batch tomorrow! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe. I steamed the squash to save vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States