Cheesy Butternut Squash Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is phenomenal! I wasn't paying attention and used an entire apple (fuji). heavy on the onion. definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
My family and I thought this was delicious! First of all, I put it in the food processor to get the smooth texture that shows up in the picture. I don't think it would have gotten there with just cooking it longer. Also, I made it with almond milk because my son is allergic to cow's milk. I made cheese ravioli and topped it with this sauce, toasted walnuts, and Parmesan cheese. I served it with garlic bread and a salad. All agreed, it was a delicious vegetarian meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apryllshowers
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very simple and yummy recipe. And it was good even without onion and two of the cheeses that I did not have on hand. Can't wait to try it again with all the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apryllshowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Like some of the others, I initially found this to lack some depth. That could have been due to the specific broth I used which wasn't as rich as I would have liked. I was surprised that the sweetness of the apple did not come through. There was no mention of what kind of apple would be best for this. I had a Fuji on hand, so that's what I used. I'll try others next time. Because of the thin-flavored broth and the lack of sweetness from the apple, the garlic just ended up overpowering the sauce, so I'd probably cut the garlic in half. Despite all of this, I did enjoy the sauce. But I did have to make some modifications to appeal to my kids. I added a lot more cheese and blended the sauce. I also added a pinch of oregano at the end to give it a little more flavor. Served with liberal amounts of Parmesan on top. My older child had seconds, and the second griped his way through it, but I was thrilled he ate as much of the veggies as he did (I also let him crumble corn chips over it - I didn't have bread crumbs or crackers...the things I do to appeal to a young palate). To the poster who asked why the recipe didn't look like the photo, the photos were taken by others who pureed their sauce, not the original poster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Delicious! I made a little larger batch, so I increased all of the ingredients, except the garlic. I could eat this all week long and my guests really liked it too. Some even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is one of the best recipes I have ever made! I have never been a huge fan of butternut squash but wanted to give it another try, and I'm so glad I did. I took suggestions from others and made it vegan using olive oil for butter, coconut milk, and shredded soy cheese. I also used the entire apple and didn't peel it first. It was absolutely delicious. I had planned on putting it over pasta, but it was so good that I just ate it plain. I bought a two pound bag of diced butternut squash at Trader Joe's and used about half of it for this recipe. I sure am glad I bought that big bag because I'm going to make another batch tomorrow! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This is a great recipe. I steamed the squash to save vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this tonight. It was incredible. A buttery sauce with a hint of garlic all to be delighted with this slight sweet taste with every bite of the pasta. Used Rotini in order to get the most sauce and every pasta bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Another way to prepare this is to use the frozen pureed butternut squash. It's in a box type of container that you microwave. Make a rue with butter and flour and a little milk. When thick add in butternut squash and parm cheese. Loosen with more milk if needed. I then stir in grated nutmeg and a little chopped fresh or dried sage, salt, pepper. Incorporate mixture with cooked pasta, I use shells, put into butterd dish, sprinkle with a mixture of panko, seasoned breadcrumbs, a little more parm, and melted butter. Sprinkle on to and bake 35 to 45 minutes or till bubbly and browned. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States