Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good and easy dish to make. I did not add any lemon juice (didn't have any) and I also cut back on the mayo per other reviews. I also felt that steaming the broccoli and onion before was a waste of time so I just added it to the dish when you combined all the ingredients. Broccoli came out cooked perfectly (not mushy). Overall, I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Photo by Angela Hines Severson
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I ended up having to substitute a couple of the ingredients, but this is the best Cheesy Broccoli Chicken Casserole I have ever had. It was tangy, cheesy, buttery, and savory. You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Hines Severson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a kid pleasing recipe and the taste is very good! The reason for the 3 stars is because of all the changes I will make when I fix this again. 1 bag of rice will be plenty. I also used frozen broccoli (I had it on hand). I don't like my veggies very mushy, so the broccoli was frozen when I put this in the oven...that was just right! Since next time I will be cutting the rice in half, it might be a good idea to reduce the mayo by 1/2 too. I did not add the curry powder because my family doesn't really care for it and the taste was still very good! I would also reduce the browning time for the chicken to 6-8 minutes on each side, then bake everything for 30. I also did not cut up the chicken. My hubby is watching his carbs, so I left the chicken whole so he wouldn't have to eat a lot of rice to get chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
A few years ago I decided to never again eat microwave dinners. However one of my favorite ones was a cheesy chicken broccoli casserole by a certain lady named Marie who's last name shall go unmentioned. Anyways I really wanted to recreate that meal so I found this recipe. Just like the other reviews I made a few changes to suite my tastes. First, I grilled my chicken on my famous boxer grill with salt, garlic powder & pepper. Once cooked I cut it up in small pieces. I'm not a fan of boiled meat. Second I also used frozen broccoli as others have done. Third, I used a box of Near East garlic & herb wild rice (one box) prepared per the directions on the box. lastly, I substituted the mayo for sour cream. Maybe its just me but mayo belongs on turkey sandwiches not in casseroles. I also left out the curry powder. Anyhow it turned out great & tasted better than the microwave dinner I was trying to recreate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is delicious. My husband raved over it. I used knorrs creole butter rice and instead of mayo I used 2 big spoonfuls of sour cream. Didn't use curry powder. Used Cajun seasoning and red pepper. I didn't want to use all of those pans so I used leftover chicken and didn't cook the broccoli or onions just put them in the mixture of everything raw and it was cooked perfectly. It did make a whole lot. I filled my largest cassarole dish and filled a gallon sized ziplock about 3/4 full. I think I'm just going to freeze the leftovers since its just me and my husband and we still have half a pan left. Great recipe! Update**** I defrosted the leftovers in the fridge then baked as I did before and it tasted the same as it did the first time around. I wrote the instructions on the ziplock and I wouldn't try to eat it after 6 months according to stilltasty.com. I ate it at almost exactly 6 months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was really tasty. I made a few changes. I used 2 cups of plain cooked rice in place of the seasoned rice and there was plenty of flavor with the other seasonings. Used a cajun seasoning for the "salt free seasoning blend. Used fresh lemon juice. It takes some time as there are a lot of ingredients but it was worth it. Very rich so I think for us it was a lot more than 8 servings with a side salad to compliment the meal. Took a little longer to cook than 30 minutes. I think I left it in for almost an hour, but until the cheese was darkening and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I loved this item but, it was a lot of work to get to the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe to a T,and made so many modifications I probably shouldn't post a review, but I am going to do it anyway, so take this review with a grain of salt. I made a double batch and had to use what I had on hand. I used previously cooked and shredded chicken that I had in the freezer. About 4+ cups of it. I used one head of cauliflower and 2 bunches of broccoli. I cooked white rice in water with chicken bouillon and used 5 cups of that once it cooked (the extra rice was just to bulk it up). I did 2 cans condensed chicken soup, 1 cup mayo, and 1 cup fat free sour cream. I subbed 1 tsp dried parsley for the 2 tsp fresh, used just shy of 4 tsp of tony cachere's cajun seasoning in lieu of the salt free seasoning blend, used all the garlic powder, omitted the curry since we don't have/like it, and added a dash of onion powder since I didn't have any sweet onions on hand to cook with my other veggies. I probably only mixed 2-3 cups of shredded colby jack (it was all I had on hand) into it. It filled a 9 x 13 as well as 2 deep foil 8" round pans. Topped with more cheese, baked, and fell in love. It was creamy, erred on the side of being more saucy than dry (which is always good in my book) and all in all was a nice comfort food casserole. Even my picky kids ate it and my husband seemed really impressed. Glad I have more in the freezer for an easy week night meal. Bottom line - it's a forgiving recipe, great to modify for your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I used brown rice and the chicken breast cook together to save a step. Also, I used frozen broccoli, cut back on the mayo 1/2 cup. I mixed all the other ingredients in the pot with the cooked rice and, chicken breast. I did not use the butter herb packs, I flavored my rice with beef bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This is a great awesome recipe just the way it is - I just added fresh broccoli. Everyone did love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States