Cheesy Broccoli and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
One of the easiest and best soup's I've every made. Used the frozen Calif. mixed veggies but used fresh broccolil - about 4 big stalks cut into bite sized pieces. Only used 1/3 cup flour and stirred that into the 1/4 cup butter and stirred until it was a nice golden color. Used 2% milk. This time I used the real velveeta cheese next time I'll try it with the 2% velveeta and I really don't think it will change anything but the calorie count. Also put 4 chicken bouillion cubes and 2 beef boulilion cubes into the broth - think it give it a bit more depth of flavor. Being in Texas I had to add a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes. Great on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for about 10 years now and my family loves it. Sometimes I make it as the recipe says, but it is also great with a few extras. My husband finds it more filling when I add some diced potatoes, diced ham, and a can of whole kernel corn. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This soup is fabulous. My family and I loved it. I used skim milk in place of regular milk just to lighten it up a bit and still got a nice creamy soup. I served it with some nice warm crusty dinner rolls. So good. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
very good. loved it. quick and easy. i used a cup of chicken broth (its all i had left) and then made my own broth from water and ramen noodle seasoning to finish the other cup.. i know its ghetto, but its all i had to work with. i know that if next time i actually have enough broth, or if i use a little less seasoning from ramen, it will be better, cuz the flavor was a bit too strong. but that was all on me. it was my fault. otherwise, AWEsome!! UPDATE: I made this again, and made some additions and substitutions.. MMMmmMMm... yummy. not as thick as I normally like it, but deLICious flavor.. the first four ingredients I left alone. I had all of them. And since I didn't have Velveeta cheese (and it's processed. trying to be more healthy ;)) I changed the rest of the ingredients to my way of making cheese sauce without it. I used 4 tbs butter, 1/4 c flour, 1 cup milk, and 2 cups of regular shredded cheese. Also, when melting the butter, I added a little less than half an onion and 1 stalk of celery to saute in butter then did the rest as is.. still such an awesome recipe. I really love this stuff, and there's a few ways to do it without ALL the ingredients and its still similar to the original and SO SO mmm mmm good!! hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was extremely delicious and simple to make. I used a Mexican Cheese blend instead of Velveeta (which I didn't have on hand), and cut up some chicken breast to add to the soup. Very filling! My entire family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Pretty good. I wasn't sure why the roux was made separately then added in, so I just did the roux first then added in the milk, broth, and veggies. My cheese, which was a nacho cheese instead of velveeta, was frozen as well, so I added that in a minute or two after adding the veggies. I had to use a regular mixed veggie blend instead of the broccoli--we don't have broccoli in the house (freezer or otherwise) right now, but it worked well. Just maybe made it less of a broccoli soup. I halved the soup and it still made enough to go with our lunch today and for 2 lunches at work for the both of us this week. I'm surprised there's no seasonings anywhere in this recipe; without the nacho cheese, I'd definitely be wanting to add some salt, pepper, and maybe some garlic and onion. For all that, though, it's an easy, quick soup recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This soup is DELICIOUS! I made it last night for my husband and we both loved it! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the mixed vegetables, but I added about 2 lbs. of cut up russet potatoes. I did everything else as written. Thanks so much for this yummy recipe this will definitely be made again, and again! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time and decided to try this one based on the reviews. I substituted fresh broccoli and fresh carrots instead of frozen, added some chopped chicken breast and some rice. It made the soup more hearty. The only thing I would change next time is cut back on the cheese a little or substitute some of the velvetta for a smokey cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Inexpensive, quick, and easy! I cut the recipe in 1/2 for just my hubby and I to have with sandwiches...it was a perfect way to get some veggies! I plan on using the leftovers tossed with pasta and chicken later this week for dinner :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup good. I added some some spinach and served it with a spoonful of rice. It was very easy a good last minute dinner my two boys 4 and 2 gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States