Cheesy Broccoli and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I have been making this recipe for about 10 years now and my family loves it. Sometimes I make it as the recipe says, but it is also great with a few extras. My husband finds it more filling when I add some diced potatoes, diced ham, and a can of whole kernel corn. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Very Tasty Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This soup is fabulous. My family and I loved it. I used skim milk in place of regular milk just to lighten it up a bit and still got a nice creamy soup. I served it with some nice warm crusty dinner rolls. So good. A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Soup was really good-but tasted a little floury--next time I'll be sure to use Wondra instead of regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is the definitive broccoli soup recipe. Other than using fresh vegetables (because they were on sale) and pureeing the soup at the end (because I have a 1 and 3 year old), I followed this recipe to a tee. I felt like I was in the Prego commercial when cooking this- I wanted to add spices but could not think of anything as it was perfect as is. My kids loved this. Thanks for sharing Bryanne, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was extremely delicious and simple to make. I used a Mexican Cheese blend instead of Velveeta (which I didn't have on hand), and cut up some chicken breast to add to the soup. Very filling! My entire family raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
One of the easiest and best soup's I've every made. Used the frozen Calif. mixed veggies but used fresh broccolil - about 4 big stalks cut into bite sized pieces. Only used 1/3 cup flour and stirred that into the 1/4 cup butter and stirred until it was a nice golden color. Used 2% milk. This time I used the real velveeta cheese next time I'll try it with the 2% velveeta and I really don't think it will change anything but the calorie count. Also put 4 chicken bouillion cubes and 2 beef boulilion cubes into the broth - think it give it a bit more depth of flavor. Being in Texas I had to add a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes. Great on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
we loved it! Even my very non-vegetarian husband liked it. The only thing I changed was using vegetable broth instead of chicken because I'm a vegetarian. This will be a favorite in our house for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I'm sorry, but this was just okay. I really had high hopes for this soup because of the outstanding the ratings it has received so far, but it only tastes about as good as one could expect Velveeta and frozen veggies to taste. This was a disappointing meal that I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Pretty good. I wasn't sure why the roux was made separately then added in, so I just did the roux first then added in the milk, broth, and veggies. My cheese, which was a nacho cheese instead of velveeta, was frozen as well, so I added that in a minute or two after adding the veggies. I had to use a regular mixed veggie blend instead of the broccoli--we don't have broccoli in the house (freezer or otherwise) right now, but it worked well. Just maybe made it less of a broccoli soup. I halved the soup and it still made enough to go with our lunch today and for 2 lunches at work for the both of us this week. I'm surprised there's no seasonings anywhere in this recipe; without the nacho cheese, I'd definitely be wanting to add some salt, pepper, and maybe some garlic and onion. For all that, though, it's an easy, quick soup recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States