Cheesy Broccoli and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Turned out very, very good. However, 1/4 cup of butter wasn't enough to stir 1/2 cup flour until creamy. I wound up with dry yellow chunks and had to add the milk and then stir until my arm almost fell off to get it thicken. Other than that, it was good. I used fresh veggies because whenever I buy frozen broccoli and/or cauliflower, I always wind up getting all stalks (which I hate). I also added a tiny smidgen of salt, and a pinch of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious! So yummy! Real comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because mine just never thickened up much at all. I even tried adding another pound of velveeta, which made it more cheesy (YUM), but didn't help which the thickening. The only one in my family who didn't enjoy this was my 10 year old, and that's just because he doesn't like cheese on his broccoli. I served it with Broccoli Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Kids loved it. Also used fresh onion, celery, carrots and corn off the cob in addition to the frozen veggies. I used low sodium fat free chicken broth and fat free half and half instead of milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was good and simple enough to make with whatever you happen to have on hand as I quickly learned. I always have broccoli and California style frozen veggies on hand......except for today. I was already knee deep before I realized I didn't have the right veggies but I did have a frozen snap pea stir fry veggie on hand so thats what I used. Its real quick to throw together plus ultra filling since its so very rich! Thanks for the simple tasty submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I doctored this up a little bit. I added chopped celery and onions to it, and instead of flour used cream of chicken and cut the milk down to one cup. To thicken it I added a little cornstarch mixed with water. You can tell when it is thickening cause the spoon gets harder to stir. Put it in individual serving size containers and froze it. Now I can have a bowl whenever I want it. No more hoping Subway has it that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Pretty danged good and relatively low cal for how cheesy/creamy it is. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My fiance loved it. I used 2% Velveeta, but it still tasted pretty heavy of cheese. Maybe use less Velveeta, or you could substitute velveeta for real cheese. There are a ton of leftovers, so you can cut the recipe in half for a smaller family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I used this recipe as a guide and it turned out deliciously. I changed some ingredients, but followed the cooking directions. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I didn't have the California mixed veggies, so just used frozen cauliflower and frozen broccoli. I used cheddar cheese and seasoned with a minimal amount of salt and a few dashes of ground black pepper. I followed the directions for this recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely do this again, but will try using the California mixed veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States