Cheesy Broccoli and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I doctored this up a little bit. I added chopped celery and onions to it, and instead of flour used cream of chicken and cut the milk down to one cup. To thicken it I added a little cornstarch mixed with water. You can tell when it is thickening cause the spoon gets harder to stir. Put it in individual serving size containers and froze it. Now I can have a bowl whenever I want it. No more hoping Subway has it that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Pretty danged good and relatively low cal for how cheesy/creamy it is. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
My fiance loved it. I used 2% Velveeta, but it still tasted pretty heavy of cheese. Maybe use less Velveeta, or you could substitute velveeta for real cheese. There are a ton of leftovers, so you can cut the recipe in half for a smaller family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I used this recipe as a guide and it turned out deliciously. I changed some ingredients, but followed the cooking directions. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. I didn't have the California mixed veggies, so just used frozen cauliflower and frozen broccoli. I used cheddar cheese and seasoned with a minimal amount of salt and a few dashes of ground black pepper. I followed the directions for this recipe and it turned out great. I will definitely do this again, but will try using the California mixed veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is really good and simple. I made broccoli cheese soup and just cooked 2 lbs broccoli in the chicken stock, then mushed it up with a potato masher. I had major trouble with the butter flour mixture. It made a huge clumper and took forever to smooth out, so next time I will use equal parts butter and flour. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4thegospel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This soup is DELICIOUS! I made it last night for my husband and we both loved it! The only thing I changed was I didn't add the mixed vegetables, but I added about 2 lbs. of cut up russet potatoes. I did everything else as written. Thanks so much for this yummy recipe this will definitely be made again, and again! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong in the cooking process. 1/4 cup butter and 1/2 cup flour was like crumbs and strange to "cook". Then I added the 2 cups of milk and it never became smooth, just very very thick. I tossed in the cheese chunks and tried to stir but couldn't so I gave up and stirred the milk mess into the vegetables and broth that had cooked up very nicely. I stirred a bunch and the cheese mostly melted and the soup thickened up and we ate. WOW, delicious! Very rich. My husband went back for seconds. The cheese sauce sure didn't go together like I thought it would though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I have been looking for a recipe like this for quite some time and decided to try this one based on the reviews. I substituted fresh broccoli and fresh carrots instead of frozen, added some chopped chicken breast and some rice. It made the soup more hearty. The only thing I would change next time is cut back on the cheese a little or substitute some of the velvetta for a smokey cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
very good. loved it. quick and easy. i used a cup of chicken broth (its all i had left) and then made my own broth from water and ramen noodle seasoning to finish the other cup.. i know its ghetto, but its all i had to work with. i know that if next time i actually have enough broth, or if i use a little less seasoning from ramen, it will be better, cuz the flavor was a bit too strong. but that was all on me. it was my fault. otherwise, AWEsome!! UPDATE: I made this again, and made some additions and substitutions.. MMMmmMMm... yummy. not as thick as I normally like it, but deLICious flavor.. the first four ingredients I left alone. I had all of them. And since I didn't have Velveeta cheese (and it's processed. trying to be more healthy ;)) I changed the rest of the ingredients to my way of making cheese sauce without it. I used 4 tbs butter, 1/4 c flour, 1 cup milk, and 2 cups of regular shredded cheese. Also, when melting the butter, I added a little less than half an onion and 1 stalk of celery to saute in butter then did the rest as is.. still such an awesome recipe. I really love this stuff, and there's a few ways to do it without ALL the ingredients and its still similar to the original and SO SO mmm mmm good!! hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States