Cheesy Broccoli and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elaine
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used all fresh vegetables, be sure you use sharp cheese or it's a little bland, otherwise fool proof and extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I changed it up a bit. I used 1 can of vegetable broth, 1 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of flour, a few tablespoons of butter, just half of the 1 pound Velveeta cheese, 1 bag of frozen broccoli, and diced potatoes. I'm not sure what the original recipe taste like, but the vegetarian version is absolutely delicious! Will make again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqulyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe was awesome! I substituted red potatoes for the cauliflower since my husband doesn't like cauliflower. I used about 1 small bag of frozen carrots and 2 bags of frozen broccoli. I cooked the red potatoes and carrots first to ensure that the potatoes would be soft and cooked all the way through before adding the cheese sauce. Then after the potatoes softened, I added the broccoli. I like to have some broccoli florets left in the soup and the longer you cook it the more it seems it dissolves so I added the broccoli last. For those that had trouble with the sauce, the key is to add the milk slowly and stir it constantly. I used 2% milk and shredded Velveta cheese. It was really good and my family loved it! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Turned out very, very good. However, 1/4 cup of butter wasn't enough to stir 1/2 cup flour until creamy. I wound up with dry yellow chunks and had to add the milk and then stir until my arm almost fell off to get it thicken. Other than that, it was good. I used fresh veggies because whenever I buy frozen broccoli and/or cauliflower, I always wind up getting all stalks (which I hate). I also added a tiny smidgen of salt, and a pinch of white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Delicious! So yummy! Real comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because mine just never thickened up much at all. I even tried adding another pound of velveeta, which made it more cheesy (YUM), but didn't help which the thickening. The only one in my family who didn't enjoy this was my 10 year old, and that's just because he doesn't like cheese on his broccoli. I served it with Broccoli Cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Kids loved it. Also used fresh onion, celery, carrots and corn off the cob in addition to the frozen veggies. I used low sodium fat free chicken broth and fat free half and half instead of milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was good and simple enough to make with whatever you happen to have on hand as I quickly learned. I always have broccoli and California style frozen veggies on hand......except for today. I was already knee deep before I realized I didn't have the right veggies but I did have a frozen snap pea stir fry veggie on hand so thats what I used. Its real quick to throw together plus ultra filling since its so very rich! Thanks for the simple tasty submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I doctored this up a little bit. I added chopped celery and onions to it, and instead of flour used cream of chicken and cut the milk down to one cup. To thicken it I added a little cornstarch mixed with water. You can tell when it is thickening cause the spoon gets harder to stir. Put it in individual serving size containers and froze it. Now I can have a bowl whenever I want it. No more hoping Subway has it that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States