Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shana Stolz
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Ohhhh the flavor! Definitely not a calorie friendly recipe, but so worth it! I did however change it a little by adding chicken broth instead of water (2 cups) and about a 1/2 cup of roasted pepper salsa! It's soupy but that's how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana Stolz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teri
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I substituted a few things, first we got spicy brats, fresh brussel sprouts, red bell pepper, jalapeño, and onion. I used a quarter cup of the chop onion and seeded the jalapeño and chop in small pieces. We also got frozen roasted red potatoes and a can of fiesta nacho cheese soup along with the cream mushroom soup and chicken broth to sub for water. I sautéed all the fresh ingredients and cup up brats then added everything in the crock. I'm also going to finish it off with some cup up crispy bacon when it's ready. It's not done cooking yet but I taste tested it and it's going to be amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Pretty watery and SALTY! Had to add milk to cut the salt. Edible, but not a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
The potatoes need to be cut very small or it will take maybe 5-6 hours to cook through. Added a can of Campbell Cheese soup, en extra cup of shredded Gruyere cheese to thicken the sauce. I also replaced water with German beer. Minced one shallot instead of the powder. Adding garlic won't hurt as well. Overall pretty good. Next time I would cut the brats into even smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This recipe was really good. I did make some changes but not because I thought the recipe wasn't solid but because of our personal likes. Here is what I did differently. I added 1 can each of cream of celery soup, cream of potato soup and cheddar cheese soup. I used one package of beef stock. I sprinkled in some garlic powder and rosemary to taste. I added some broccoli and cauliflower and left out green beans. I browned all veggies/lightly cooked all veggies before putting all together to help with cook time. I did cook it in a regular pot rather than the crock and that was a mistake. It was definitely better the second day and I think that's because it missed out on the blending that happens while cooking slowly together. Crock pot it will be next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved the idea of this. Left out the bell pepper and subbed cheddar cheese soup for the mushroom soup. Cooked this on low in my Dutch oven on the stove. Added a little extra cheddar cheese at the end. Overall very good and filling. The green beans should not be left out, they really add to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great meal! I will say that it takes longer than 3 hours to cook potatoes in the crock pot. Learned that the first time I made this. Second time, I just cooked on the lowest setting (10 hr) and everything was great. If you didn't want it to cook all day, you could probably boil the potatoes for a few minutes first. I also use 2 cans of the soup because just one can plus the water weren't enough. Also, I doubled the bratwursts to 12 because I buy the pre-cooked ones and 6 just isn't enough. Overall a great cheesy meal especially on cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Point, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is really good. I greatly enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This was an interesting recipe. My husband liked it the most. I cooked mine in the slow cooker on high and the potatoes were still hard. I am not sure what the deal was but oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bleedingheartnan13
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States