Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover brats. I didn't think there was enough moisture in the crock to make a stew, but the end result was what I thought was a perfect consistancy. I think the potatoes need longer/hotter cooking time: I gave it three and a half hours on high and thought they still needed some more. I also substituted cream of cheese for the mushroom soup and a can of beer for the water: being a native, it just seemed like the right thing to do and I really loved the extra-cheesy beer goodness. My boyfriend did find the flavors a little bland, though: red pepper flakes next time will probably do the trick. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was just ok. I probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good soup for a chilly fall day. I made some minor tweeks and was very pleased with the outcome: Browned and almost fully cooked bratwurst then sliced; browned about 1/4-1/2 cup each chopped onion, celery, and carrots in 2 tbsp. butter, then added the mushroom soup, one can chix broth, and about one cup milk. Added my very small-ly cubed potatoes and bratwurst; then added some pasturized processed cheese slices and some real cheddar. Boiled all for about one hour (didn't use crock pot). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was excellent. I did make a few minor variations. I used par boiled potatoes, and added a few more veggies. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is great football food! We have made it several times and guests always rave over it. I tend to boil the potatoes until they are half done instead. Otherwise it takes nearly 6 hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was good and very versitile you could add most any veg.I added some corn I had cut off the cob and some velveta cheese I needed to use up it was delish will be making again.Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
A little bland. I took some of the previous reviewers advice and added garlic as well and the corn, I didn't put the full 2 cups of cheese. Will make again, but need to come up with a way to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
not good, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I didnt have time for the slow cooker,so I browned the brats,put the potatoes in the microwave for 7 min. then diced and added them with brats in a stock pot,saute the onions and peppers with 1/4 cup of sherry and add to pot with the rest of ingredients plus 1/2 cup of chicken broth turned out perfect! will do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2acres4me

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Good idea though i have to say i strayed a bit from the recipe by adding some leftovers. i added left over rice and broccoli. i didn't feel there was enough water to cook the potatoes so i added a cup instead of a third of a cup. It came out good though 3 hours was definitely NOT long enough to cook the potatoes. Even with the extra water, it took closer to 5 hours to get them tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States