Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
very good, i used half velveeta and half shredded cheddar, turned out great. also tossed in a small can of corn and small can of carrots, yum. definitely not low fat, but still very good. served with garlic crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
We loved it!!! Yummy Yummy. I used cheddar cheese soup and some velveeta instead of what the recipe called for the cheese part. I also added just a little corn starch to thicken it up just a bit. I put it on high in the crockpot for 3 hours and it was ready. I had no problem with my potatoes, they were done perfectly in 3hrs. I cut them up in small cubes. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good! Super easy and budget friendly. We love this one. And so does my wallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was a great stew. My husband loves it and that's saying something. I, like a couple other reviewers add the cheese at the end, much better that way. Also I had some mushrooms(canned or fresh) which ever I have and a little curry powder. What good flavor! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tellomillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It was a four star recipe until the next day, when the leftovers reheated to be just as good as the day before! I followed the other reviewers in using frozen hashbrowns instead of fresh potatoes (3.5 cups). I put in 1/3 c more water and about a dozen sliced fresh mushrooms, and only added the cheese in the last half hour, but otherwise left the recipe as was. Wonderful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My husband and I completely disagree on almost all food. He doesn't like any soups or stews or pot roasts of any kind. Now we agree on one item, this stew!! I thought I would try it on him because it contains two of his favorite items, cheese and brats. I added a little corn and carrots for me because I like veggies. Put it all in the crock pot and forgot about it. I loved it, he loved it and my in laws loved it, I had nothing left. I will be adding this to my weekly list of dinners! Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a keeper. Very good and SUPER easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This turned out pretty well but took quite a while for the potatoes to soften. I turned the crockpot up to high for a couple of hours and then reduced it to low for 4 more hours. I also made a few other changes. Removed the casings from the brats and added a diced onion while browning. Also added a soup can full of water rather than 2/3 c, didn't drain the green beans and still worried about not having enough liquid. So during the last hour of cooking I added about 1/2 c milk. Just before serving I added the cheddar and it turned out great. Not greasy at all...and pretty thick. Definitely stew-like. I don't think I'll rush to make it again but we all thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I orginally got this recipe when we lived in Wisconsin and lost it in a move. My family loved it so much that there was never any leftovers!The only change that I make is to leave out the red bell pepper. It sooo good to have it back and enjoy it yet again. Especially this winter!! LindaK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We enjoyed this stew. My rating isn't entirely fair, since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Based on other reviews, I browned a whole chopped onion and the chopped potatoes along with the brats in a little olive oil. I feel like this brought out extra flavor in the vegetables, but I can't say for sure since I didn't try it without. I also used cheese soup in place of the cheddar and cream of onion soup instead of cream of mushroom (I don't like cream of mushroom much.) I added 1/2 bottle of dark beer instead of the water. And I added the red pepper and green beans (about 8 oz. frozen, not canned)in for the last 30 minutes of cooking so they wouldn't get soggy. With these changes, we thought it was very good. It still could have used a little extra flavor - maybe some cheddar cheese stirred in at the end, or some hot sauce, or some garlic sauteed with the potatoes and onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States