Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I make a recipe that's almost identical to this on the stovetop, except that it calls for kielbasa and omits the cheddar cheese. It hadn't occured to me to throw it in the crockpot, but I'll try it- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Wow, this was even better than I expected, and I already thought it would be good! We did boil the brats in beer before putting them in the crock pot. I also boiled the potatoes just a bit. We then added 1/2 a can of beer to the crock pot. Cooked for about 4 1/2 hours and it was perfect - very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Absolutally wonderful!! I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but it was great. I didn't have red peppers, but turned out great without. Also I didn't measure the cheese (could have been more or less), but wonderful. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I had purchased the ingredients for this and did not have time to get it in the crock pot, so I fixed it on the stove top. Wonderful flavor! I par-boiled the potatoes prior to adding them to the rest of the ingredients, did not drain the green beans and substituted milk for the water. It was done in less than an hour on the stove top. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This is an awesome recipe! My husband loves when I make it. I have to make extra so he can eat it leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This stew was so much better than I thought it would be! But I had to make the following modifications (not because I wanted to, but because it's what I had on hand): Cream of Mushroom soup with garlic (instead of regular cream of mushroom) 5 smoked brauts and 4 slices of bacon (both browned) 1 bag frozen green beans (no bell pepper) 1.5 cups cheddar cheese (instead of 2) About an house before it finished cooking, I added another can cream of mushroom soup and some water - and I am glad that I did! It was really creamy. I also cooked it for 6 hours instead of 3 (mostly on low, but about 2 hours on high). We ate the soup with bread. I was a little worried that my 4 year old wouldn't go for the garlic (because garlic cream of mushroom soup just doesn't taste as good as real garlic) but she liked it! I don't know what this officially tastes like cooked according to the recipe, but I think that I'll make it again and not be afraid to add whatever I have available - just like I did today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Awesome! I used pre-cooked brats, so no need to brown them. I also used 2 cans of soup and added some garlic. I do agree with other posts that 3 hours is NOT long enough - I did 5 hours on high and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. My husband and 2 year old loved it. It makes wonderful leftovers too. It is so nice to come home to dinner ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was really good. I just changed a few things to suit our tastes. I used fresh onion, that I chopped and sauteed in a little bit of beer. Then I just used a small jar of roasted red bell peppers, since I didnt have fresh. And left out the green beans, just didnt seeem important to me. Didnt have cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken instead. But would also try it with cheddar cheese soup. It was a little greasy, so I just skimmed it. Maybe using velveeta instead will help. Also replaced the water with beer, and just used the whole can, because I felt it need more sauce. I did need more than 3 hours to get the potatoes soft, but that was fine, 3 hours for a crock pot meal is pretty short. We had ours in sourdough bread bowls, with a cold beer, GREAT combination, and watched Ohio state beat Oklahoma! It was a great football meal. I will make this for superbowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZBMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States