Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband & I really enjoyed this! Being from Wisconsin, we figured we couldn't go wrong with brats & cheese! Haha. I didn't add the red pepper as I didn't have any & I substituted the beans for corn. I rated it 4 stars because I would probably make changes next time; i.e. cut down on the brats used, add a can of cheese soup, use chopped onions & cook on low for a few hours more so the potatoes get a little more done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I like this meal. It is great when you have a bunch of left over brats or in my case found some stuffed in the back that had been freezer burned. I made it before I read the reviews and thought that was not enough time for the potatoes to cook so I cut mine up in pretty small bites and it only took 4 hours to cook them pretty threw. Next time I try it I might add a can of cheesy soup. It was a little dry at the end but I was home while it was cooking so I could keep it stirred. It was more of a stew then a soup....just like the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe. I did eat a little bit. My 6 yr old triplets either wouldn't touch it or took a bite and told me their tummy hurt (ie: I'm done).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very good recipe. Great for cold weather. I changed a few things around (because I can't NOT change things around). I added a cup of milk as well as about a cloves worth of minced garlic. I substituted red potatoes for russets and it really kicked the color up a bit. All in all, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Summers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pooler, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This was obviously not as good for me as it was for some... This took alot longer than the recipe stated and ended up cooking something else for lunch. To top it all off, it wasn't great or really even very good. It was more of a soup than a stew and didn't have much flavor. If you make this, do yourself a favor and either make it on the stove top if you want it done within the 3 hour time frame as suggested in the recipe. Also, if using canned green beans and shredded cheese, don't add until towards the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I had to change this to suit my family's taste but it was really good! I used cream of potato instead of cream of mushroom. I also used cheddar cheese soup and subbed corn for green beans. I still added the shredded cheese about 20 minutes before serving. Whole family loved it! Thanks for the starter! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
I wanted a brat recipe that was different from the traditional beer n brats and saw this. I think it is an awesome start to a great recipe. I read all the reviews and tips that everyone had left before I made this and ended up with something wonderful....a crowd pleaser! For starters many people commented that the potatoes were uncooked after three hours. Since I didn't have anything but canned/diced potatoes I used 2 cans and they were perfect. I broiled 8 brats and cut them into small bites as suggested. It was also noted that in some cases the stew was too greasy. For this I used one can of cheese soup and two cans of cream of mushroom. 30 min prior to eating I added one cup of shredded cheddar. It was not soupy or greasy at all and had a wonderfully cheesy taste. (I wonder if some people had greasiness because of poor quality brats.) I used a teaspoon of minced garlic, 1 whole onion, and 1 red pepper sauteed together prior to adding to the stew. I used one can of green beans, 1 cup of frozen corn and it was suggested that I add broccoli however, I had none on hand. I am so glad there are left overs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Excellent! This one's a keeper in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Wow!!!! I took others advice and used chedder cheese soup. Also I used a soup can of water and about 1/2 soup can of milk (to make it a little creamier). I will admit.....When I got all of this in the crock pot I wasn't sure about it. It didn't look or smell good to me. Let me tell ya something.....This by far is the BEST Brat stew ever!!!! My Hubby and 4 y/o LOVED it!! Next time I will double it though...It really doesn't make much...My family of 3 didn't have any leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Not for our taste I should say but I also used beer instead of water maybe that is why. Could of had a different taste if I followed the directions that is why I am giving it 3 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States