Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was just ok. I probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good soup for a chilly fall day. I made some minor tweeks and was very pleased with the outcome: Browned and almost fully cooked bratwurst then sliced; browned about 1/4-1/2 cup each chopped onion, celery, and carrots in 2 tbsp. butter, then added the mushroom soup, one can chix broth, and about one cup milk. Added my very small-ly cubed potatoes and bratwurst; then added some pasturized processed cheese slices and some real cheddar. Boiled all for about one hour (didn't use crock pot). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was excellent. I did make a few minor variations. I used par boiled potatoes, and added a few more veggies. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lord Burghley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is great football food! We have made it several times and guests always rave over it. I tend to boil the potatoes until they are half done instead. Otherwise it takes nearly 6 hours in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This was good and very versitile you could add most any veg.I added some corn I had cut off the cob and some velveta cheese I needed to use up it was delish will be making again.Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
A little bland. I took some of the previous reviewers advice and added garlic as well and the corn, I didn't put the full 2 cups of cheese. Will make again, but need to come up with a way to give it more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
not good, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I didnt have time for the slow cooker,so I browned the brats,put the potatoes in the microwave for 7 min. then diced and added them with brats in a stock pot,saute the onions and peppers with 1/4 cup of sherry and add to pot with the rest of ingredients plus 1/2 cup of chicken broth turned out perfect! will do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2acres4me

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Good idea though i have to say i strayed a bit from the recipe by adding some leftovers. i added left over rice and broccoli. i didn't feel there was enough water to cook the potatoes so i added a cup instead of a third of a cup. It came out good though 3 hours was definitely NOT long enough to cook the potatoes. Even with the extra water, it took closer to 5 hours to get them tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Pretty good! I left out the bell pepper and used 2 cans of cheddar cheese soup instead of the cream of mushroom per other reviews. It came out cheesy and thick. We use soft french bread to dip into. Next time I think I might try flavored brats, like smoked, to give it more taste. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States