Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
way too salty, meaty and not cheesy enough for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was a GREAT starter recipe. I read the reviews first and took some of the tips. I used Velveeta in the last 30 minutes in place of the shredded cheddar. Also used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cheddar cheese soup. I cooked the brats ahead of time and par boiled the potatoes before adding them. It was thick and YUMMY!!!! I'll be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was good quick and simple...I used califlower intead of potatos, frozen green beans and onion powder. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
this was really good!! I used Potatoes Obrien with a can of mushroom soup and chedder cheese soup. I also mixed in evap milk, paprika, chipotle seasoning, garlic powder. I cooked the sausage a bit with onions, cut up the sausage and placed in the bottom of the crock and poured 1/2 cup of beer, place potatoes on top and then added the other ingredients. I def will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal*Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've made this a few times and it's fantastic. My husband especially loves this on cold days. I have to make sure I cut my potatoes small enough though. If they're too big, they take too long to cook. Thanks for this one! It's a fall/winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We thought it was good. With my crock-pot it was done in 4 hours. HOWEVER...I am a bratwurst purist, being from Wisconsin (in Arizona now)the only way to cook JOHNSONVILLE BRATS is to boil them in beer for about 20-25 minutes and then grill them until they are browned and crisp. Contrary to what some people say you do NOT prick them with a toothpick or fork first. I will make this again, but I'll use different sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Requires more cooking time. At least 6 hours on low, 4-5 hours on high. I left the skins on the potatoes. Giving it four stars, because it is pretty bland. Add some spice if you are making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover brats. I didn't think there was enough moisture in the crock to make a stew, but the end result was what I thought was a perfect consistancy. I think the potatoes need longer/hotter cooking time: I gave it three and a half hours on high and thought they still needed some more. I also substituted cream of cheese for the mushroom soup and a can of beer for the water: being a native, it just seemed like the right thing to do and I really loved the extra-cheesy beer goodness. My boyfriend did find the flavors a little bland, though: red pepper flakes next time will probably do the trick. Thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I thought this was just ok. I probably wouldn't make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Very good soup for a chilly fall day. I made some minor tweeks and was very pleased with the outcome: Browned and almost fully cooked bratwurst then sliced; browned about 1/4-1/2 cup each chopped onion, celery, and carrots in 2 tbsp. butter, then added the mushroom soup, one can chix broth, and about one cup milk. Added my very small-ly cubed potatoes and bratwurst; then added some pasturized processed cheese slices and some real cheddar. Boiled all for about one hour (didn't use crock pot). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States