Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This turned out pretty well but took quite a while for the potatoes to soften. I turned the crockpot up to high for a couple of hours and then reduced it to low for 4 more hours. I also made a few other changes. Removed the casings from the brats and added a diced onion while browning. Also added a soup can full of water rather than 2/3 c, didn't drain the green beans and still worried about not having enough liquid. So during the last hour of cooking I added about 1/2 c milk. Just before serving I added the cheddar and it turned out great. Not greasy at all...and pretty thick. Definitely stew-like. I don't think I'll rush to make it again but we all thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I orginally got this recipe when we lived in Wisconsin and lost it in a move. My family loved it so much that there was never any leftovers!The only change that I make is to leave out the red bell pepper. It sooo good to have it back and enjoy it yet again. Especially this winter!! LindaK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We enjoyed this stew. My rating isn't entirely fair, since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Based on other reviews, I browned a whole chopped onion and the chopped potatoes along with the brats in a little olive oil. I feel like this brought out extra flavor in the vegetables, but I can't say for sure since I didn't try it without. I also used cheese soup in place of the cheddar and cream of onion soup instead of cream of mushroom (I don't like cream of mushroom much.) I added 1/2 bottle of dark beer instead of the water. And I added the red pepper and green beans (about 8 oz. frozen, not canned)in for the last 30 minutes of cooking so they wouldn't get soggy. With these changes, we thought it was very good. It still could have used a little extra flavor - maybe some cheddar cheese stirred in at the end, or some hot sauce, or some garlic sauteed with the potatoes and onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was very good, everyone liked it. I also waited until before serving to put in the cheese and I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 velveeta. I substituted the green beans for corn only because everyone likes corn at my house. I used red baby potatoes and didn't have a problem with them being done when we were ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a great basic recipe. Like others, I made some modifications. I used 1/2 bag of frozen hash browns and omitted the red pepper (doesn't fly with the kiddie). From experience I didn't want cheese lumps, so I didn't use shredded cheddar cheese and instead used one can of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup. I also substituted 'reduced sodium' cream of chicken soup to cut back on the salt. Also, if your soup isn't thick enough, try adding instant mashed potato flakes a bit at a time to thicken it up. This soup with the modifications is such a hit in our house that I make it every other week. It's pretty frugal too since you can buy the brats in bulk or on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My husband LOVES this. I've made it a couple of times now, at his request. He rarely asks for anything, so he must really like this! I rated in four stars only because I changed so many elements - and there is no 4.5 rating :-). After reading the other reviews, I used sliced Velveeta, boiled the potatoes before peeling them, and cooked the stew in a pot on my stove. This last time, I did not have enough brats, so I used half brats and half mild Italian sausage. I took them out of their cases, chopped them up and precooked them. I did not have a pepper, so I skipped it. I chopped some onion and added it (instead of minced dried onion) to give the stew texture. Simmered all for an hour and voila. (I forgot to wait to add the cheese, but even that turned out fine, thanks to the magic of whatever Velveeta really is :-). )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginColorado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedalia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This did not turn out like a stew at all. I followed recipe exactly except for the fact I turned my crock pot on high, and even after 4 1/2 hours the potatoes were still a little crunchy. The consistency was thin and very greasy from the brats. I won't cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
It was actually really good. I stated making it before I read the reviews, then I started tweaking with it. I used (instead of regular brats) Cheese flavored ones. I realized that I didn't any cans of green beans, so I used a bag of frozen one. I didn't have any red bell peppers, so I just substituted a green one, and I also added a pound of Velveeta and it seemed to thicken it up alot more than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macpatient

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I thought this was awesome! I made it on the stovetop instead of crock pot - as per other reviewer's suggestions, I boiled the potatoes about 10 minutes (until they were mostly cooked, but not entirely) while browning the sliced brat. I drained the potatoes and threw them and everything else in the pot, plus a can of corn and a sprinkle of garlic & thyme, let it simmer over medium-low for about 10 minutes, then stirred in 12 oz of cubed Velveeta and simmered again until it all melted. Dee-licious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States