Cheesy Brat Stew for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Very good! Super easy and budget friendly. We love this one. And so does my wallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was a great stew. My husband loves it and that's saying something. I, like a couple other reviewers add the cheese at the end, much better that way. Also I had some mushrooms(canned or fresh) which ever I have and a little curry powder. What good flavor! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tellomillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It was a four star recipe until the next day, when the leftovers reheated to be just as good as the day before! I followed the other reviewers in using frozen hashbrowns instead of fresh potatoes (3.5 cups). I put in 1/3 c more water and about a dozen sliced fresh mushrooms, and only added the cheese in the last half hour, but otherwise left the recipe as was. Wonderful! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My husband and I completely disagree on almost all food. He doesn't like any soups or stews or pot roasts of any kind. Now we agree on one item, this stew!! I thought I would try it on him because it contains two of his favorite items, cheese and brats. I added a little corn and carrots for me because I like veggies. Put it all in the crock pot and forgot about it. I loved it, he loved it and my in laws loved it, I had nothing left. I will be adding this to my weekly list of dinners! Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was a keeper. Very good and SUPER easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This turned out pretty well but took quite a while for the potatoes to soften. I turned the crockpot up to high for a couple of hours and then reduced it to low for 4 more hours. I also made a few other changes. Removed the casings from the brats and added a diced onion while browning. Also added a soup can full of water rather than 2/3 c, didn't drain the green beans and still worried about not having enough liquid. So during the last hour of cooking I added about 1/2 c milk. Just before serving I added the cheddar and it turned out great. Not greasy at all...and pretty thick. Definitely stew-like. I don't think I'll rush to make it again but we all thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I orginally got this recipe when we lived in Wisconsin and lost it in a move. My family loved it so much that there was never any leftovers!The only change that I make is to leave out the red bell pepper. It sooo good to have it back and enjoy it yet again. Especially this winter!! LindaK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
We enjoyed this stew. My rating isn't entirely fair, since I didn't follow the recipe exactly. Based on other reviews, I browned a whole chopped onion and the chopped potatoes along with the brats in a little olive oil. I feel like this brought out extra flavor in the vegetables, but I can't say for sure since I didn't try it without. I also used cheese soup in place of the cheddar and cream of onion soup instead of cream of mushroom (I don't like cream of mushroom much.) I added 1/2 bottle of dark beer instead of the water. And I added the red pepper and green beans (about 8 oz. frozen, not canned)in for the last 30 minutes of cooking so they wouldn't get soggy. With these changes, we thought it was very good. It still could have used a little extra flavor - maybe some cheddar cheese stirred in at the end, or some hot sauce, or some garlic sauteed with the potatoes and onions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This was very good, everyone liked it. I also waited until before serving to put in the cheese and I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 velveeta. I substituted the green beans for corn only because everyone likes corn at my house. I used red baby potatoes and didn't have a problem with them being done when we were ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMARRIE14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States