Cheesy Beef 'n' Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Great as is, would be even better with a bit more kick. Next time will add some cajun seasoning to the meat while cooking. I think that's all it needs. I made with brown rice. After adding the 3 cups of water to the rice & garlic, I let simmer/slow boil for 25 minutes, then added the rest of the ingredients per the recipe, but added 1 more cup of water. Followed recipe after that. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Yummy! The only thing I did different was add a can of diced tomatoes and green pepper. Oh, and I used way more cheese (pepper jack, mozzarella, and cheddar). Fiancee LOVED it!! I also browned the rice in olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina3339

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Varnville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious! Added extra cheese too. Easy, quick and great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
We liked this! I chopped my carrots instead of shredding because I wasn't sure the kids would eat shredded. I added pepper and 1/2 cup chopped onion to the ground beef. This was kind of like a rice a roni dinner, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I liked this for something quick and filling on a weekday. With that being said I did lighten up the saturated fat, as I do on all recipes. I also just made it all on the stove top to save time and dishes. For the meat I used lean beef. I also used light butter and 50% less fat Cabot cheddar cheese I grated. I thought the shredding of the carrots didn't look right so I cut them in very small match stick sized pieces. After the rice was done I just added the beef to the pan. I used a pan with 3" sides to hold everything. When the beef was done I added the liquid ingredients and cooked on med-high for 10 minutes until it was thick. I thought the herb taste was a tad stronger than I expected. I added a pinch or two of garlic salt and onion powder and seemed to balance it. I also thought it was a little salty from the boullion so, if I make it again, I will use a low sodium one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We don't eat beef, so I used ground pork and chicken bouillon. Also, had some leftover Chinese carryout rice from day before, so just used that and cut down on the water to about 1 cup. Served over canned stir fry vegetables and it was very good. No extra salt needed, the bouilion has enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a superb dish. THe taste was brilliant, and the dish was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was a really good recipe but I think the spices need to be tweaked a little. There was too much of something and not enough of something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't have any carrots so I altered it by putting in half a bag of frozen corn and a can of black beans. I also didn't have any garlic cloves so I used 2 Tbsp of Cholula roasted chili garlic powder, montreal steak seasoning, and oregano. I also so used doble the cheese (1/2 chedder and 1/2 mozzerella). It came out amazing and is something my family will be eating many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
the recipie calls for to much garlic it was good because i only put in 1/4 of a cup of garlic instead of the half a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States