Cheesy Beef 'n' Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Great as is, would be even better with a bit more kick. Next time will add some cajun seasoning to the meat while cooking. I think that's all it needs. I made with brown rice. After adding the 3 cups of water to the rice & garlic, I let simmer/slow boil for 25 minutes, then added the rest of the ingredients per the recipe, but added 1 more cup of water. Followed recipe after that. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Yummy! The only thing I did different was add a can of diced tomatoes and green pepper. Oh, and I used way more cheese (pepper jack, mozzarella, and cheddar). Fiancee LOVED it!! I also browned the rice in olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina3339

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Varnville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious! Added extra cheese too. Easy, quick and great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
We liked this! I chopped my carrots instead of shredding because I wasn't sure the kids would eat shredded. I added pepper and 1/2 cup chopped onion to the ground beef. This was kind of like a rice a roni dinner, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I liked this for something quick and filling on a weekday. With that being said I did lighten up the saturated fat, as I do on all recipes. I also just made it all on the stove top to save time and dishes. For the meat I used lean beef. I also used light butter and 50% less fat Cabot cheddar cheese I grated. I thought the shredding of the carrots didn't look right so I cut them in very small match stick sized pieces. After the rice was done I just added the beef to the pan. I used a pan with 3" sides to hold everything. When the beef was done I added the liquid ingredients and cooked on med-high for 10 minutes until it was thick. I thought the herb taste was a tad stronger than I expected. I added a pinch or two of garlic salt and onion powder and seemed to balance it. I also thought it was a little salty from the boullion so, if I make it again, I will use a low sodium one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We don't eat beef, so I used ground pork and chicken bouillon. Also, had some leftover Chinese carryout rice from day before, so just used that and cut down on the water to about 1 cup. Served over canned stir fry vegetables and it was very good. No extra salt needed, the bouilion has enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a superb dish. THe taste was brilliant, and the dish was filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was a really good recipe but I think the spices need to be tweaked a little. There was too much of something and not enough of something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I didn't have any carrots so I altered it by putting in half a bag of frozen corn and a can of black beans. I also didn't have any garlic cloves so I used 2 Tbsp of Cholula roasted chili garlic powder, montreal steak seasoning, and oregano. I also so used doble the cheese (1/2 chedder and 1/2 mozzerella). It came out amazing and is something my family will be eating many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
the recipie calls for to much garlic it was good because i only put in 1/4 of a cup of garlic instead of the half a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States