Cheesy Beef-and-Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I thought this was very tasty, although my husband found it to be bland. We added black olives and used a good sharp cheddar. I'll probably add some seasonings or salsa to the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYN_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe to make..... if you want your husband to take you out for dinner! We wound up throwing every bit of this away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aberdeen, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This is one of my families favorites. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I did everything that this recipe told me to do and, well, let's just say that we had to go out for dinner because of the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Very easy to make, but I found it rather bland and uninteresting. I added a bit of chilli to the meat sauce and that improved it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Great! I used these as Burritos. I combined the beef and rice, omitted the sour cream and added half the called-for cheddar cheese. Serve with the rest of the cheddar sprinkled on top of the burrito, and a side of refried beans. Hot sauce too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I didn't care for this at all. It was too dry and needy spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This recipe was kind of bland. I added some fresh banana and jalapeno peppers and extra chili powder, but it was still bland. I had to substitute the tomatoes for corn because my husband has been getting hives from tomatoes (we think???) I did top mine with salsa. It seems that the problem with this recipe is the rice mixture. There was too much of it. I think using mexican rice would help add flavor. It tasted best when eaten with corn tortilla chips, rather than wrapped in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I made this the other night for dinner. I substitued ground turkey for the beef and brown rice for the white and kicked up the spices a little with some garlic and extra of everything. BF and I totally enjoyed it - 9 yr old daughter -- not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I quite liked this - it made a small amount of beef go a long way. I added freshly chopped garlic and about a cup of frozen corn kernels. Then, because the mixture seemed a little watery, I added about a tablespoon of cornmeal to thicken it up. It was tasty, quite spicy, and well received at our house. Good simple casserole for a wintery, cold, snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States