Cheesy Beef-and-Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I thought this was very tasty, although my husband found it to be bland. We added black olives and used a good sharp cheddar. I'll probably add some seasonings or salsa to the rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYN_G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe to make..... if you want your husband to take you out for dinner! We wound up throwing every bit of this away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aberdeen, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
This is one of my families favorites. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I did everything that this recipe told me to do and, well, let's just say that we had to go out for dinner because of the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Very easy to make, but I found it rather bland and uninteresting. I added a bit of chilli to the meat sauce and that improved it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Great! I used these as Burritos. I combined the beef and rice, omitted the sour cream and added half the called-for cheddar cheese. Serve with the rest of the cheddar sprinkled on top of the burrito, and a side of refried beans. Hot sauce too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I didn't care for this at all. It was too dry and needy spicing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This recipe was kind of bland. I added some fresh banana and jalapeno peppers and extra chili powder, but it was still bland. I had to substitute the tomatoes for corn because my husband has been getting hives from tomatoes (we think???) I did top mine with salsa. It seems that the problem with this recipe is the rice mixture. There was too much of it. I think using mexican rice would help add flavor. It tasted best when eaten with corn tortilla chips, rather than wrapped in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I made this the other night for dinner. I substitued ground turkey for the beef and brown rice for the white and kicked up the spices a little with some garlic and extra of everything. BF and I totally enjoyed it - 9 yr old daughter -- not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
I quite liked this - it made a small amount of beef go a long way. I added freshly chopped garlic and about a cup of frozen corn kernels. Then, because the mixture seemed a little watery, I added about a tablespoon of cornmeal to thicken it up. It was tasty, quite spicy, and well received at our house. Good simple casserole for a wintery, cold, snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States