Cheesy Baked Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Perfection - smooth, cheesy inside surrounded by a crunchy outside. These are what I want when I want cheese grits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I cut the servings to 8 and used two eggs as many recommended. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious but WAY too much butter! I will cut in half next time. Don't see the need to add an egg (as suggested by other reviewers), I liked the consistency. Might try with 1/2 milk and 1/2 water next time to make even lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe. I made a couple of tweaks because I didn't have white pepper. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. and added 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce. I also added half the parmesan cheese to the mixture and used the other half to sprinkle on top. I also deleted that final 1/3 cup butter because the 1/2 cup I already had in there seemed like enough. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Took this to a monthly potluck and it disappeared! Got several requests for copies of the recipe, too. I now keep a dish in my freezer to have on hand if needed. A keeper in my repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I will never again make grits using milk. Didn't like the taste of the grits. Prefer using water or chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Really liked this alot and my husband raved. Served with pork chops and succotash. I didn't have alot of real butter in the house, so I used margarine for the 1/2 cup portion and real butter for the 1/3. Used shredded cheddar/jack cheese. Turned out great--really delicious, I recommend. Followed the rest of directions to a T and the dish is a keeper. (I used Paula Deen's grits.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was delicious! I added chopped green onion and red bell pepper and it turned into a great breakfast for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Good recipie! My mom makes baked grits every year for Christmas morning / brunch ( I think because she can bake them the nite before, and then just heat them up). This recipie is very close to hers. I def think it needs at least one egg. The Parm Cheese is a nice touch, but I prefer cheesier - so I added extra cheddar. My kids LOVE baked grits. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I love grits & my kids hate them, so I am constantly trying new recipes to entice them towards my way of thinking. This is the closest I've come to getting them to "like" grits. Really good flavor, not too runny (one of their previous complaints) & the baking adds a nice crunchy golden brown topping. My only downside to the recipe is that the liquid amounts (for the grits I used) was off. I had to add about a 1/2 cup more liquid (I used chicken stock) to make them creamy enough so that the baking didn't dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Baked Fries

See how to make crispy, crunchy, healthier French fries.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States