Cheesy Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe a lot, and have gotten so many compliments. It's great for company - you get an egg dish without having to stand over a pan while guests are there. I made it mostly as written the first time, except I had to use cheddar cheese instead of pepperjack (for the kids). With the cheddar, it turned out too salty for my taste. Now I just use about 1/4 tsp of salt instead. Baking the eggs makes it taste like there's a crust on the bottom. This one is a keeper - so versatile and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoextean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Haymarket, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was great! I wanted to try something different for my husband and found this recipe. SO easy!! Since I only wanted to make it for him, I scaled the recipe down and used a mini ceramic loaf pan. I also didn't have cottage cheese so substituted ricotta cheese and used shredded cheddar instead of pepper jack. I also added sautéed mushrooms, spring onions, green pepper & 1/2 a diced peperoncini. My husband loved it!! It was finished baking in 30 minutes. I'll def be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great taste, but cooking for an hour caused it to be too brown on top. Have made a note to check it after about 40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a really easy tasty dish. I made as a side dish for dinner and it was amazing. I also added a 7 oz can of diced green chilis which goes well w the pepper cheese. Can't wait to try other combos with veggies and other cheeses. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Turned out great! Used bisquick instead of flour was the only real change. After baking I wrapped in a tortilla with sausage links, salsa & a dab of sour cream. Best breakfast burrito ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Delicious. Made this as it was written adding the diced chilies. Will definitely make again. Katherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
reduced down to 2 servings & it was great. Hubby even liked it & he refuses to eat anything with cottage cheese in it. What he doesn't know about this recipe won't hurt him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Wow! Delicious and easy...killer combination! I made it according to the recipe except that I added a small can of drained diced green chilies. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. It was one of those breakfast-for-dinner meals, and I served it with fresh fruit. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've made this recipe a gazillion times down through the years. Everyone likes it. I've made it for breakfast, lunch, or a meatless dinner--mostly for 6-8 people. I would suggest not blending the cottage cheese, as another poster suggested, because it adds nice texture to the dish. I use the small-curd cottage cheese. I use plain Monterey jack instead of pepper jack. Some people don't like spicy, and spicy can be added on top with salsa, etc. This recipe is from an old book from the '70s or '80s called Frugal Gourmet Cooks... something--American (or maybe another of his books)listed under crustless quiche. I still have the paperback. Chunky tomato sauce or green chunky salsa is good with it, and for a change, we like chutney of the Major Grey variety on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
It's a keeper.....the finicky husband loved it, especially with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States