Cheesy Baked Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I would make this again, but I think I need to slice my eggplant thinner. The skin was a little more noticeable than I would like as far as texture goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Cheesy is correct! This dish is good. I love the taste of the eggplant, cheese, spinach, and even the onions. Even though there are several steps, it really is pretty easy. I'll be making again. I did keep to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
And Low Carb! Wonderful comfort food. My husband asked for it again with meat, which was also good, but I preferred the taste of the veggies more without the meat added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! I love eggplant and would make this several times a month, but I'm the only one in the family who eats eggplant. I do occasionally make this and take it for lunch several times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Read some of the suggestions... sweated the egg plant and layered it more like a lasagna when I put it in the 9x13 dish... also I added a little more of the spinach because we don't eat tomatoes... this was soooo good! Theres only two of us so there is plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I mage this for dinner tonight and it was perfect! Very good flavour and easy to prepare, my daughter loved it to and asked me to put it in my favourite folder, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harriston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elmira, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have never (or my kids!) have had eggplant before! Didn't know what to look for in a "good" eggplant, however, this recipe was a perfect introduction in to just how an eggplant can work! I made it will all the ingredients/measurements as the recipe suggests, only change was the order of layering! Absolutely wonderful, will make again & again! Very quick to put together & bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Ok, going into this. I can say I never really found a purpose for eggplant. This recipe has made me fall in love with the veggie. Great starter/basic recipe that can be adjusted to what you have in fridge or preferences. I followed the recipe & made the following changes/additions: put garlic salt on the slices to sweat them for 15 minutes before baking in oven (didn't wash off salt); while sauteing veggies, I added some fresh mushrooms (really made flavor pop); I didn't have ricotta so I substituted fat-free cottage cheese for it & added some fresh parsley to cheese mixture. I decided to simplify things & do one layer of everything = egg plant, spinach/onion/mushroom mix (did sprinkle some garlic powder on it once on top of eggplant), spaghetti sauce, cheese mixture (doubled mozzarella since we had extra & like things cheesy) & then shook italian seasoning on top of cheese. Baked for 35 minutes & it was perfect! 9 year old said it reminded her of lasagna, but she liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Tasted delicious. Left out ricotta. I put the slices of eggplant in salted water for 30 min., towel dried them then baked. Very good -- used only 1 tsp of Italian seasoning and it was plenty. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Palermo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This was delicious. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used canned diced tomatoes. I also added fresh mushrooms to the spinach mixture and only topped with mozzarella instead of adding the other cheeses. This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant parmesan.

Eggplant Parmesan I

See how to make a cheesy eggplant casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States