Cheesy Apple and Oat Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I made this recipe exactly as written. And I wouldn't change a thing. In fact, my husband said this is his favorite meatloaf and will become a standard in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by mnmspencer
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent! My husband who is a chef... said he never would of guessed chedder and apple... but it made for a very good meat loaf, and we loved the crust it made on the top! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mnmspencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this was an amazing meatloaf! My kids didn't like it but they are incredibly picky! the rest of my family loved it though it was moist and had just the right taste sweet but not to sweet made it a second time with pear instead of apple was still amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was nice and dense and made a fantastic leftover cold meatloaf sandwich. I did want more apple flavor. And the cheese was a bit salty/overpowering. Next time I'll try upping the apple a bit, and reducing the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shanagan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I love apples and onion together so I figured this would be a no-brainer. It was good, and definitely stayed very moist, but I'm not convinced the apple actually added much more than moisture. I might up the apple, change the pork/ground beef ratio and play up the apple flavor instead of letting it fade away. To be fair, that could be the gala apple I used. I'd say it's worth a shot to see if your family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanagan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My husband and I HATE meatloaf but this was AMAZING! We finished the whole thing so quickly and there were no left overs that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Great Meatloaf, used ground venison from a white tail, and some left over ground pork trimmings, 3/4C of diced apple and an extra sharp cheddar. Plenty moist yet did not crumble too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N&J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
A dense and hearty, stick to your ribs meatloaf with a hint of cheese. Used one packet of instant oatmeal (which is just shy of a 1/2 cup), and two Italian sausages (casings removed), omitted salt & pepper. Baked for one hour at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
excellent. i made a few adjustments based on what i had on hand - (1) swapped out the oats for 1/4 cup of flax seed and (2) went with 3/4 lb of ground beef + 3/4 pound of ground turkey (no pork). perfect, will have the leftovers tonight and definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States