Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
When I need to feed a crowd this is the recipe I use. It is delicious. There are never any leftovers - even if I make two pans. The guys in my office request it often. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burns, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kilyena
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is a really good hearty breakfast casserole. Probably one of the best I've ever had. I increased the bacon since my family loves bacon. I drained it well for several minutes to get as much of the fat out as possible. Other than increasing the bacon some, I didn't change anything and didn't need to. Put leftovers in the fridge and we had for breakfast the next day. It reheats well. Served with some warm soft freshly baked Cresent rolls. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
My favorite. So delicious and easy! I love that there's no bread in it. Not a swiss cheese fan, but it's delicious in this! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has been my go-to recipe for a long time (it was originally posted long ago). It is delicious as it stands, but is so adaptable. I generally cut the recipe in half and make it in an 8x8 or 9x9 pan. I have added, in no particular order, minced jalapenos, a can of drained Rotel tomatoes and chilis, green peppers, red peppers, turkey sausage, hot sausage, bacon, and various cheeses (regular or low-fat), depending on what I have on hand. (Please note: I have never added these all at once; this is a list of possible additions you might have on hand. And if you're halving the recipe and are enthusiastic in your additions, use 5 eggs instead of 4.) Also, I use the packaged southwest-style hash browns in place of the plain hash browns. One suggestion: the only thing I found among the cheeses that I couldn't replace is the cottage cheese. It really is essential for creaminess. The one time I made this without, the casserole was brick-like, edible, but not nearly as good as usual. I often make this on a Sunday morning and cut the leftovers in squares and refrigerate or freeze, to be eaten during the week or later. Thank you for this delicious addition to AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is really good! For potatoes, I cut red potatoes w/ skin on into small cubes and sauteed til just slightly fork tender, in a small amount of some reserved bacon fat but w/ lid on pan to steam them so I didn't have to use too much grease to cook them. (I make 1 1/2 times recipe so had 6 cups of cube potatoes) Precooked the potatoes, cooked the bacon and onion the day before and then just added the eggs and cheese the day I made it. I also used 2 -10 oz frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and water squeezed out thru colander, then added to the egg mixture. 1 1/2 X the recipe w/ fresh cut potatoes and spinach as above filled an 11 X 14 casserole dish and served 16. 350 X 1 hr or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This. Was. Delicious! I made this for Christmas breakfast, and the family raved about it. I prepared it last night following the exact recipe, and set it in the fridge overnight. Baked at 350 for 1 hour this morning. Would make sure the hash browns are fully thawed and DRY before placing in the mix (otherwise could be sloppy or ruined by too much moisture). Also, did have to use paper towels to absorb grease from the top of the dish. Afterward this dish was not greasy looking or tasting. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My daughter had this when we were over at their house last christmas. On birthdays at our house you get to choose what you want for your birthday. My husband chose this. I am not crazy about breakfast casseroles, but this one is the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Republic, Missouri, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've made this several times and it is always a hit. I use turkey sausage and have even made a smaller batch without hash browns. Delicious every time! I prefer to brown the hash browns first and get them crispy. Instead of mixing them in, I press them in the bottom of the pan and pour the egg/cheese/sausage mixture over the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Don't know what happened to my comment but it disappeared. This is a special breakfast for special occasions. I love it. I have a questions. Can this be frozen and reheated in the oven? I am going away for a few days and don't want to cook. Does anyone know? I am concerned about the potatoes. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Gluten-free! My husband was recently diagnosed with celiac disease, so I've had to change a lot of my regular recipes. When we needed to provide a breakfast casserole for a church brunch, I decided to give this recipe a try, so that my husband would have a dish he knew would be safe to eat. It was delicious! In fact, this is one gluten-free recipe that holds its own against other recipes that call for condensed soups, breads, etc. It was a good thing my husband got his helping right away, because the pan was soon empty, so others must have agreed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States