Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is one of our favorite make ahead breakfast casseroles. I'm generally too lazy to deal w/bacon, so I typically use diced ham as the protein in it's stead. I also add diced bell peppers to add some color and veg. Great hearty easy breakfast when we have overnight guests. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have had this "as is", and I have made it with some variation. I'm giving this a 5 star because of its versatility. I just made this for a large group so made two casseroles. This is what I added: cooked two packs of bacon (cut up) and one "log" of breakfast sausage, cooked until brown, drained, and divided that between the two dishes. With the remaining fat in the pan, I sauteed onions, a red and a green pepper (diced) and a pack of mushrooms (sliced). It was received with rave reviews...I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam newcomer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This is the BEST breakfast casserole I've ever eaten! I was a little nervous about the cottage and swiss cheeses in the recipe because my kids do not like either one, so I just didn't tell anyone it was in there and no one ever knew. My kids loved it! It's very filling too. Mine didn't look like the picture either. The picture looks stirred. I made this in a 9x11 pan and it came out browned on top. Be sure to let it sit for at least the recommended 10 minutes before you cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I make the this for my church's men's breakfast. I use a pound of breakfast sausage rather than bacon, 12 eggs rather than 9, and a 10 oz can of Rotel tomatoes added in for good measure. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe, left out hash brown. Added left over potatoes on top and cube fresh toast bread on bottom. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used my family of 3 as test subjects and we loved it. I will be making this again for a crowd when we are on vacation at the lake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So here's the deal: Mrs. Montana Elk Guy says this is THE best thing I've ever made. Enough said. I followed the recipe exactly, with one minor modification: I browned and crisped the hash browned potatoes (shredded 'em myself, using non-peeled, Yukon Gold spuds) first, and placed them in the bottom of my baking dish. All other ingredients then went on top of the hash browned potato base. My two sons INHALED this, as well. In our household, this will become a recipe used for "special" breakfasts - you know, Christmas morning, Easter Sunday, etc. Many thanks for a true 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
My new favorite breakfast casserole. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leona
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I didn't have hash browns so I used frozen Potatoes O'Brien, thawed, and omitted the onions. I also added two extra eggs. We had several people, a few of whom don't like cottage cheese and/or Swiss cheese, but everyone raved about this dish and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is very good. The next time I make it I will brown the bacon and onions separately due to the onions getting too brown before the bacon was ready. I pressed the thawed potatoes into the bottom of a buttered casserole dish and added salt, pepper and garlic powder then followed the rest of the recipe as written. I served this for Easter brunch and everyone loved it. I was asked twice for the recipe. I will be making this one again and again. I would be good for dinner too. Like others I assembled mine the days before and baked the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States