Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe is very good. The next time I make it I will brown the bacon and onions separately due to the onions getting too brown before the bacon was ready. I pressed the thawed potatoes into the bottom of a buttered casserole dish and added salt, pepper and garlic powder then followed the rest of the recipe as written. I served this for Easter brunch and everyone loved it. I was asked twice for the recipe. I will be making this one again and again. I would be good for dinner too. Like others I assembled mine the days before and baked the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this recipe for Easter brunch. It was good but it needed salt and pepper, and perhaps some paprika to give it some flavor. It was quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Next time I will omit the bacon as it was too soggy. I like my bacon crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have made this for every brunch in the last five years and everyone loves it - never any left overs. I follow the recipe but have also used cheddar cheese on occasions depending what I have on hand. Like others, I prepare this egg dish the night before when I make my baked French toast (also from this site). I prepare as much as possible the night before so my kitchens is clean and all I have to do is put it in the oven and it is hot when everyone arrives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Delicious! Even my granddaughter, who doesn't like eggs, loved this! Easy to make. I used Potatoes O'Brien (with green and red peppers) and it was a very pretty and tasty casserole. Great for brunch and family gatherings - everyone had seconds. --Marti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Crowd pleaser! My favorite go to for brunches and holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Wow! What a great recipe .... a definitely GO TO for a meal for Breakfast or a Lunch (for company) or Dinner for the home-folk!!! I followed the recipe pretty much to a tee ... cooked my bacon in the George Forman. Added a little half and half, used half Ricotta and half cottage cheese mixed with an electric mixer. Honestly, at first, I did not like the texture but soon realized it was less fat (by far) than using the same ingredients with canned condense soup. All I can san is "thank you".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Super simple and tasty. Followed the recipe as written, but added an extra egg as the mixture looked a bit dense (my eggs may have been on the small side). To save a bowl to wash, I let the bacon & onion cool a bit, and just added the remaining ingredients to the original pan before pouring into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Added 3 extra eggs, but still thought it was too dense. Added salt and pepper as well, but wished I had added more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've made this several times and it is always a hit. I use turkey sausage and have even made a smaller batch without hash browns. Delicious every time! I prefer to brown the hash browns first and get them crispy. Instead of mixing them in, I press them in the bottom of the pan and pour the egg/cheese/sausage mixture over the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States