Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is so yummy and beautiful. We are going to add it to the thanksgiving table! On a less elaborate day, it can serve as a vegetarian entree. I prefer it with a sharper cheese - italian blend is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Delicious. I added a pat of butter to the center of each squash half before adding filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I've used this recipe twice now, and I love it - though I've adapted it a bit each time. The first time, I didn't have celery or carrots, so I just used mushrooms and onions. The second time I also didn't have celery/mushrooms, and I added barley to the mix along with a little bit of ground beef. I also spiced it with cayenne pepper and black pepper. It is delicious even without the cheese on top, and with variations. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Really good. My husband and I really enjoyed it. Kids not so much. Easy to make and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was fantastic! I opted to bake my squash instead of microwave it, 15 minutes did the trick. Then I opted out of the celery, not a fan myself. Next time I'll double the saute however, as I used big squash. I'll definitly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very, very good! Modified using a reviewers suggestion, of cooking bacon and then sauteed in bacon grease versus using butter. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made it without the celery, since I didn't have any in my fridge and made it in the oven instead of the microwave. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was great! Didn't change a thing and served it for a vegetarian dinner. My husband didn't even ask where the meat was. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
super easy, super yummy. I would substitute olive oil next time -- might have been a little greaser than it needed to be. Otherwise, awesome. I concur that 1/2 of one squash is a perfect main dish for a vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I wasn't sure they would turn out as yummy as the photo looked but they did. I didn't have any shrooms so I subbed some finely chopped ham to make it a main dish and added a little garlic as suggested. My only problem was the microwave cook time was too long. Next time I will try for 15 mins. Mine stuck to the glass dish in some burnt spots but it didn't affect the flavor just annoying to clean. I also used half the filling amount as suggested and it was the perfect amount. Half a squash is plenty per person. I served this with Cabbage and Dumplings also from this site and it made for a very filling and delicious meal. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States