Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
What a great idea for a recipe! Everything was great except for the celery. I will be making this again but will be swapping out the celery for either chopped carrots or cauliflower...or both. Oh, & don't forget to salt & pepper the squash prior to adding the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I thought this was fantastic! I doubled the recipe as I had 2 squash on hand and omitted the celery as I had none and I am not a huge fan of it. I also used garlic in the saute as other cooks suggested. I hope it's not true about the leftovers being soggy, I am the only one going to eat them!!! I made this will a nice pork tenderloin and it was phenomenal with it!!! Happy cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent! Cooked a few strips of bacon, then cooked veggies in bacon grease. My husband, who says he hates squash, ate the hole 1/2 before even touching his beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
My family and I had this tonight for dinner. It got rave reviews from the adults. I did make a few changes. I did like one person said and added bacon and cooked the veggies in some of the bacon fat. I also mixed a little panko in with the cheese on top. WONDERFUL! Thank you so much for this recipe. NOTE: I only microwaved each side separately for 7 minutes. Turned out perfect. I also broiled the top for a couple minutes after the cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very yummy. It was nice to eat acorn squash with savory flavors instead of sweet. Easily could have eaten this as my main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I was looking for something other than my usual butter/brown sugar squash. This fit the bill. I will add it to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Nice way of preparing acorn squash that isn't a sweet recipe. I subbed out the celery for asparagus. Quick and easy. I would recommend cutting down on microwave time, or at least checking half way through. My squash did not need nearly that much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Fantastic way to eat squash without loading it up with sugar! We've used this base recipe to make several variations including stuffed with rice, potatoes, veggies, diced cured ham, etc... Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very yummy, we eat acorn squash all the time now thanks to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I needed to make 4 of these and didn't have a dish big enough to put in the oven and hold them all upright. So I had to scoop out the acorn and put it in a pot, mix everything else in and then add cheese. My family is not a squash type of family but most of them ate this. I thought it was highly filling and may make again for a lunch for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States