Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this recipe twice. The first time the way it is shown. My husband wasn't really excited about it, he didn't really care for the mushrooms. I however really liked it. So I decided to make it again and change it up to see if I could change his mind. I cooked the squash as the recipe says but then let it cool slightly. I cooked the onions, celery & mushrooms as per the recipe but then I scraped the inside of the squash into the celery mixture, added a diced clove of garlic, 1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese. I then placed this mixture back into the squash shell, baked @ 350 for 15 minutes then topped with 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. Baked for 5 minutes more till cheese melted. Success, he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Eslick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I tasted like my mom's Thanksgiving stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight. Delicious! Even my husband who doesn't like squash thought it was yummy. I added two cloves of chopped garlic when I sauted the onions and celery before adding the mushrooms. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
really good used peppers onions and apples since I didn't have the other veggies but this tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a huge hit with my family, one of the best side dishes I've made. I don't like using a lot of butter so i substituted in olive oil as a healthier choice but you need to add extra salt if only using OO. Frying a little garlic in the oil before adding the vegetables adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
It tasted like thanksgiving day stuffing without any of the carbs! Yummy! I used sharp cheddar and regular parsley (not flat leaf). It didn't specify in the recipe. I had a small squash so ate both sides, it was a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
20 minutes on HIGH in the microwave...came out crispy critters. Had to regroup and use sweet potatoes that I had. Are you sure it should not have been 2 minutes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
New family favorite. The only difference was I used a local herb cheese that had on hand. It was a nice change from all of the sweet recipes that can be found for acorn squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
this is phenomenal! such an easy recipe and so full of nutrients and so so so much flavor...can't wait to make it again while acorn aquash is in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States