Cheesy Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Add my husband to the bunch who hate squash but liked this. I guess the appeal for them must be that the squash is kind of "diluted" or tamed by the other vegetables. Whatever the reason, we both enjoyed this a lot. No changes other than to add a little minced garlic to the sauteed vegetables, and it was fine as is. Sometimes simple flavors are nice in their own right without a lot of additional herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Delicious. Go heavy on the celery and mushrooms so that you get some in every bite. **update- I made this again with sauteed apples and onions as a filling (with the cheese) instead of celery and mushrooms... so good, and actually pretty filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Oh my, oh WOW, and HOLY COW! Made this last night, and my BF ate an ENTIRE SQUASH!!! He loved it so much he didn't hardly touch the main dish, which was one of his faves. Omitted the butter, started with 4 slices thichk cut bacon (cut into pieces) and sauteed veggies in the grease, used a little less onion and a little more mushrooms, and added a bit more salt. As another reviewer noted, had MORE than enough filling, but I just heaped 'er in!!:) This was a fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Added a clove of garlic to the saute, and put on panko bread crumbs on top of the cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Absolutely Wonderful! What a nice change from the usual brown sugar ect. method. I did find that I could have filled 2 squash (4 halves) with the "stuffing" mixture. I've already passed the recipe on. A definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was delicious, and pretty simple to make!! I used deicata and a deicata/acorn hybrid since that was what we had, and I added bread crumbs on top (before the cheese), and it turned out great. A LOT of flavors. Also, we dont have a microwave, so I just baked the squash at 375 for a half hour. It was our main dish, since we dont eat meat, and it was very filling. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I'm trying to eat healthier & stay away from sugar so I thought this looked interesting from the usual brown sugar recipes. I used olive oil instead of butter, also sauteed some garlic & used dried parsley, as that's what I had in the house. You can adjust the amount of celery & onion to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I classify this as a five star. It's got lots of vegetables and flavor with the cheese just being the extra part of it. It is definetly a do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Perfect and easy! Portabella mushrooms and a little garlic go very well. To serve, just cut the squash in quarters and place on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This was good, though it was missing something, but I can't quite put my finger on what. Next time I make this I will probably use less celery, add some garlic, and maybe sprinkle a little bacon on top. One last comment - one squash will supposedly serve two as a side dish. I ate the suggested side dish serving size as a dinner and was full after half of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Acorn Squash

This baked acorn squash is buttery with just a smidge of sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States