Cheesiest Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Good recipe. If u would like to convert to cream of tomato soup: make sure u puree tomatoes thoroughly, reduce amt of broth by 1/2 & then use half & half, milk or Land O'Lakes Fat Free half & half as a substitute for the other 1/2 of the broth. Tip: The Land O'Lakes fat free half & half is an incredible product. It makes wonderful cream soups while cutting fat & calories, a great compromise & I usually lothe fat free products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Fantastic! I've officially outlawed any canned tomato soup after eating this. As recommended by several others, I added a bit of sugar to it. I also brought all of the other ingredients to a boil before adding the cheese, and it melted instantly and completely incorporated itself into the soup. I'd suggest doing that rather than adding it in along with everything else. It was very smooth, and the flavors blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This soup is very comforting and yummy on a cold evening, and leftovers freeze very well. It's a very easy way to have an extra-tasty homemade meal (We had our first batch for dinner with grilled cheese, and had the leftovers today with salad and garlic bread). My only problem was not being able to get the cheese to completely melt - I used the finely grated cheddar, and even gave it a whizz with an immersion blender, but still had tiny cheese granules in the end result. No one seemed to mind, though - everyone gave this a thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I loved this recipe, I added in pesto sauce instead of tomato paste. I also strained the tomatoes after pureeing them to avoid having seeds in my soup. I added in some heavy cream for a creamier soup and didn't put the cheese directly in the soup, I let it be used as a garnish. oh and I put in garlic for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was really great. My daughter and I loved it. Warning though, doesn't work well in the crock pot. I tried this and the cheese forms a glob. Next time I will simply take the time to make on the stove top. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This soup was delicious and so simple to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and followed the advice of some other reviewers by adding 1 TBSP sugar and bringing the soup to a boil then adding the cheese...it melted instantly! I served it with toasted sesame bagels with cream cheese! My husband and I enjoyed this satisfying lunch! I will prepare this again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I halved the recipe and made it for my daughter and son-in-law -- it got rave reviews! I didn't have tarragon so I omitted that and added fat-free half-and-half to make it a cream of tomato soup. The cheese melted easily and gave a nice flavor to the soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
As written, I give this a three - ok, using canned is incredibly convenient, but the flavor is rather flat, plus the consistency is watery. What I do is to make this when I have a bunch of tomatoes that need using up. I halve the amount of chicken broth, and use the fresh tomatoes (peeled and roughly chopped) with the canned. I then puree it all with a hand blender, and if it needs more liquid, I add more broth. This really improves the flavor. Anyway, this is a good basic recipe to adapt to personal taste. Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Sal, this soup was Really good and fresh tasting. I chopped up onions,carrots,celery and sauteed them off. I added a bit of flour to tighten the soup up a bit. I pulsed the tomatoes just a few times to break them down, not looking for a Totally smooth soup. I did take the suggestion of one reviewer and added a cup of 1/2 & 1/2 to it to make it more creamy. I have never made my own tomatoe soup before and now I will be able to do it again, thanks to you Sal. No canned for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Delicious! The only problem I had was the consistency; the cheese didn't melt in properly (thus the 4 stars instead of 5). Next time I'll try the suggestion given by other reviewers to bring the soup to a boil before I add the cheese. I did tweak the recipe a little based on the reviews I read. I added about 2T sugar, which seemed to cut the acidity from the tomatoes perfectly. I also used water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth, and I only added about 2 cups of water at the beginning. I added about a cup of half and half to make the soup creamier, and near the end of cooking I added water until the soup looked right. I doubt that I used the full 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States