Cheesiest Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Now this is what I was looking for. I used home grown tomatoes that I stewed ( using Italian stewed tomatoes recipe from this site). I didn't add the broth because the fresh tomatoes were plenty watery, so I added chicken boullion to compensate. I added sugar as well. Thanks for the great recipe Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Added a fair bit more sugar aswell as some basil for sweetness, but this soup was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Super easy to make. I halved the recipe and it still made plenty so I can't imagine how much it'd make otherwise! Had a great flavor and I'm sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
It was not as good as I thought it would be. I had to add a little sugar and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This soup is very comforting and yummy on a cold evening, and leftovers freeze very well. It's a very easy way to have an extra-tasty homemade meal (We had our first batch for dinner with grilled cheese, and had the leftovers today with salad and garlic bread). My only problem was not being able to get the cheese to completely melt - I used the finely grated cheddar, and even gave it a whizz with an immersion blender, but still had tiny cheese granules in the end result. No one seemed to mind, though - everyone gave this a thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I loved this recipe, I added in pesto sauce instead of tomato paste. I also strained the tomatoes after pureeing them to avoid having seeds in my soup. I added in some heavy cream for a creamier soup and didn't put the cheese directly in the soup, I let it be used as a garnish. oh and I put in garlic for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
This soup was even better the second day! I, too, used regular shredded cheese and kept waiting for it to melt completely as the recipe directed -- but it would have taken days! As a result, I had interesting little tiny cheese "pellets" that certainly added texture to the soup but were kind of weird. Next time I will be sure to use the fine grating attachment on my grater and add a bit of sugar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Good recipe. If u would like to convert to cream of tomato soup: make sure u puree tomatoes thoroughly, reduce amt of broth by 1/2 & then use half & half, milk or Land O'Lakes Fat Free half & half as a substitute for the other 1/2 of the broth. Tip: The Land O'Lakes fat free half & half is an incredible product. It makes wonderful cream soups while cutting fat & calories, a great compromise & I usually lothe fat free products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I thought this turned out good, except that be sure to use the finely shredded cheese. When we mixed the cheese in the regular shredded cheese it did not melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
It is great except that we find it acidy. We added about 3 tbsp of sugar to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States