Cheesiest Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I halved the recipe and made it for my daughter and son-in-law -- it got rave reviews! I didn't have tarragon so I omitted that and added fat-free half-and-half to make it a cream of tomato soup. The cheese melted easily and gave a nice flavor to the soup. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
As written, I give this a three - ok, using canned is incredibly convenient, but the flavor is rather flat, plus the consistency is watery. What I do is to make this when I have a bunch of tomatoes that need using up. I halve the amount of chicken broth, and use the fresh tomatoes (peeled and roughly chopped) with the canned. I then puree it all with a hand blender, and if it needs more liquid, I add more broth. This really improves the flavor. Anyway, this is a good basic recipe to adapt to personal taste. Thanks, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I tried to salvage it by adding half and half to cut the strong tomato taste - but nothing worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Really great soup. I use about 2/3 the cheddar then I use about 4 oz of cream cheese OR dollop each serving with sour cream to make it richer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
A very warm and soothing soup that's just perfect for a cold, wintery night. When I made it, the cheese didn't want to melt and stayed pretty stringy through the soup, but I blame that on the fact that I used mild cheddar instead of sharp. I'll certainly try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This soup was delicious and so simple to prepare! I cut the recipe in half and followed the advice of some other reviewers by adding 1 TBSP sugar and bringing the soup to a boil then adding the cheese...it melted instantly! I served it with toasted sesame bagels with cream cheese! My husband and I enjoyed this satisfying lunch! I will prepare this again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
It came out ok - I had a hard time getting the cheese to really blend into everything else - I felt like it needed something else to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This soup was all right. It was pretty runny, and we had to add corn starch to thicken it up. Could have used some heavy whipping cream to add body to the soup. But overall it is a decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Fantastic! I've officially outlawed any canned tomato soup after eating this. As recommended by several others, I added a bit of sugar to it. I also brought all of the other ingredients to a boil before adding the cheese, and it melted instantly and completely incorporated itself into the soup. I'd suggest doing that rather than adding it in along with everything else. It was very smooth, and the flavors blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This was really great. My daughter and I loved it. Warning though, doesn't work well in the crock pot. I tried this and the cheese forms a glob. Next time I will simply take the time to make on the stove top. I also added about a tablespoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States