Cheesiest Potatoes Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious and pretty easy! But bake at 350, NOT 250. That is definitely a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I have never made scalloped potatoes from scratch before - now I can't figure out why not. This was an EASY recipe, which you can make to your liking. I made 4 layers, with a different type of cheese in each layer. I had something else in the oven, so cooked it at 350 degrees. My husband had 4 helpings! It turned out a little runny, so I will have to experiment to see if different types of cheese will help there, or more flour. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I was looking for a potatoe recipe yesterday for our dinner. I found this one and I have to say it was DELICIOUS! It is so easy and it turned out real cheesy. I have to admit, when I poured the milk in I was a bit concerned. I told my husband we were going to either have a potatoe casserole or potatoe soup. He said soup would be fine!! It turned out great. Thank you for posting it. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was a great dish that I will definetly make again. I changed it a little because I didn't have enough potatoes. I added fresh green beans, zuchinni, mushrooms and onions in the layers and baked for an hour at 350. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great dish! We baked at 350 as posts suggested. We also covered the top layer of potatoes with a coating of paprika (because we like it so much) and then covered that with the last layer of cheese. It was watery when baked in a two quart casserole so next time we may use a baking pan to cook off some of the excess moisture. This will be a regular side dish from now on! Thanks Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I didn't have any hash browns so I diced up potatoes. Cooked the casserole the same amount of time and it turned out great. I also used sour cream and mayonnaise and a little mild cheddar cheese with the american. We like things a little spicier so I added some cayenne and garlic. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This recipe tasted fine, although it is not very visually appealing. I would never serve it to guests. The flour and cheese got a little lumpy. The taste was good, very cheesey. I will probably make again simply because it is so easy. I also baked at 350 for a little over an hour. I do not recommend putting any paprika on the top layer though, mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
We liked these well enough. They took a lot longer to cook than specified and I took others comments to cover and turn the heat to 350. They were easy enough and just the right amount of cheese. I will make them again adding some seasoning to give them a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This recipie didn't rock my world as I expected from the other reviews. It was cheesy enough. I cooked it at 350, and I still didn't think it was cooked enough. I ended up putting it in the microwave to finish it up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I liked this recipe. I shredded my cheddar and added all the flour, paprika, salt and pepper to the cheese. Then I just layered this mixture with the potatoes and poured a cup of milk over it, next time however, I will also add a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I baked mine at 375 in the middle of the oven for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States